Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beachmont Veterans Memorial School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 32 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

The only healthy activity promoted this year and last, was "Walking to School". Why so limited? Not to encourage other activities is a direct reflection upon Beachmont's management or lack thereof. It does not require a group rocket scientists to brainstorm and implement ideas for several varied activities for our children to enjoy during and after school, as well as on weekends. There is much conversation today relative to the importance of living a healthy life and yet school management has done virtually nothing for our children in this area. If the small and outdated gymnasium does not lend itself to a basketball court, ping pong tables would be widely accepted. Ping Pong tournaments would be an exciting activity for our children, for it would promote competition and team play. Management could also create chess clubs, thus enabling our children to exercise their minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Best school in Revere and surrounding areas! Principals and teachers are great, helpful, and always available. This school has a small community feel to it and is very comfortable for the students. Would definitely recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Hi, I'm a mom for 2 kids on this school, This school is the best school, love The principal, The teachers are great, thanks for your great help, God bless you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Bad! My son loves his school and teachers but the Administration is not that great. Today, I got a call to come pick my son who has fever, He was fine this morning. It took me over an hour to get there. The nurse who was not busy at that time did not escort or send someone to escort my son to the front door where I was waiting. No word on whether or not he got any Motrin or Tylenol. I had to call the nurse who did not answer and had to call the front desk who got back to me to tell me that the nurse said that she did not gave my son any medicine while his fever was over a 100. We previously signed a release form to allow the school to administrate medicine to him if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

Overall this school is great, however the principal was at no help regarding informing parents if the student were to transfer to another school do to out of district. All it stated in letter was once received student got seven days left. As both working parents how can they gives us terms, the policy in Revere Public School are very poor. What happen to "No Child Get Left Behind" model I guess it doesn't apply here. Now my child is out of school for days until everything is situated and lets add that she has health conditions that the new school needed to be inform about. On another note: This is just my personal opinion; the assistant principle seem to be very judgmental and at was no help on this matter as well. The only assistant I received was a phone call telling me that my child can no longer be there. On final contrary: All the staff and students there were very wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

My daughter has been at the Beachmont school since kindergarten and is now in second grade. She is very smart and the school is really helping her thrive. The teachers she has had, Ms. Mantenuto, Mrs. Macabe, and now Mrs. Robison have been fantastic. The administrators really care about the students. They also seem to care about parent engagement and have several meetings a year where they invite parents to give them an update about what is going on. This year all students wear uniforms and I for one couldn't be happier. The kids look great. I love the way they encourage positive behavior with "the buzz abouts" where students are mentioned at the end of the day if they caught doing something positive. There are many positive reinforcements at the school. I am very pleased with this school and so is my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Try to get an appointment with the principle to discuss issues concerning your child. The principle is always busy or she is not around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

best school in Massachusetts-- Beachmont is a small neighborhood school, with wonderful teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Beachmont is a small neighborhood school, with wonderful teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My daughter went to Beachmont for 2 years. Unfortunately we had to move. :( I really loved this school and so did she. The principle is a sweet woman. They have lots of incentives and fund raisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I love my own school and I thik it should be the bet school in the revere
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Female44%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title I41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students64%
Female62%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title I64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female54%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students45%
Female47%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title I45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female63%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students67%
Female65%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students35%
Female37%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 67%
Hispanic 42% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (781) 286-8293

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Everard St
Revere, MA 02151
Phone: (781) 286-8316

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Guild Elementary School
East Boston, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT