Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockland Senior High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

Rockland Senior High School has improved a bit in recent times, but there is a long ways to go before this can be considered even in the middle of pack among high schools in Massachusetts. MCAS scores are among the lowest in the state. The average SAT scores are also pretty woeful. The town has a reputation of not providing the schools the money needed to make their schools first-rate. The one bright sign was an override to improve the middle school building. That was a great success. But it takes a lot more to correct the structural problems that exist in the education portion. One other hopeful sign - with new housing developments comes a new population - hopefully they will care a lot more about education than the old guard currently running the town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

Since the over-ride was passed and the new middle school was built along with renovations to the high school, things have drastically improved. Seems to be an influx of new, young families moving to town and the atmosphere is refreshingly live in and around the schools. Jay Retchless and other school leaders are doing a fantastic job getting Rockland schools on the upswing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I attended Rockland high and loved my experience there. I can speak of the teachers at the honors and ap level and they were phenomenal. I currently attend boston college for accounting and the math department at the highschool including mr cassagrande, mr. Dressler, and mrs. Hoffman prepared me well for high college level math.


Posted August 18, 2013

I myself did very well with my educational experience in the Rockland public school system. I attended the John Rodgers middle School as well as Rockland high school. I felt challenged academically in all of honors and ap classes. I felt a majority of the teachers and staff truly cared about the students and emphasized accountability for the work you put it. I applied and was accepted to many of the top notch universities in Boston. I attended northeastern university for both my undergraduate and graduate work and received my doctorate degree in physical therapy. As an undergraduate at Northeastern I felt my coursework in Rockland High prepared me for high college level math, English, and sciences. Recently I returned to highschool and was very impressed with the new middle school and renovated highschool which appeared similar to a college campus. The layout was very thought out and well executed!


Posted March 24, 2008

The reviewers before said it all, it's honestly what you make of. Because of the majority of unmotivated students, Rockland is a school that is harshly criticized. The English department is phenomenal, they deserve great recognition, as well as the Math department. I believe with the rise of certain groups such as Student Government, hopefully Rockland's growth and its true success will shine through the bright, accomplishing students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I think that any child that does not do well at Rockland High school is because he/she is not willing to work hard, and take advantage of all the programs this school has to offer. My child is a senior this year, and has been accepted to every University he has applied to with scholarships, both Merit based and need based. He has taken all AP and Honors classes and has done the work required. I know many parents who thought their child would do better at a 'Private' school like Spellmand or Archies and find the quality of education is not better and return here. I would recommend this school to any student, you get out of any school what you are willing to work for. I am not a huge fan of the principal, but my children are thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

The staff does as good a job as it can with extremely limited resources. The town and State have cut the budget for 4 years straight, and may begin to add more money to the budget this year. The physical aspects of the school are in tough shape. The Principle is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

My son went to ROckland High school. He was a senior in 2005. I was very unsatisfied with the quality of the education. The school was understaffed. Many teachers do not display a caring attitude. And most of all, I feel that many students are not properly disciplined. The school tends to often suspend children - I feel that suspension should be a last resort because it removes the child from the opportunity to get an education. Students are often seen smoking on campus and hanging out nearby at the local convience store. Many students cut classes because the school will record the absenses, however it is unlikely that they will follow up through communication with the parent. I my opinion I think there is a lot of illigal substance use by students. I believe that some of this is related to the lack of firm boundaries within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

Rockland High is a good school depending on what your child makes of it, just like all schools. I am a senior this year, and I have been at Rockland High School since my eigth grade year. I have enjoyed my time in Rockland and have made many friends here. It really depends on what you and your child put into this school. The AP and honors programs here are excellent also. I hope you give it a chance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2004

I am quite disapointed in Rockland High schools performance, they are on the states school watch list and I have had many foster kids and three of my own go to this school, one whom is in his senior year. Specifically I think the teacher trainings need to be updated. for instance, I don't know about now but one of my children had a spanish class tought by a russian teacher who couldn't speak very good english. I truely believe the principle should retire and alow a fresh new (outsider) take the position.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female63%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
15%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
53%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students51%
Female59%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

65%

Average SAT score

1492

Graduation rate

85%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Hispanic 6% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 MacKinlay Way
Rockland, MA 02370
Phone: (781) 871-0541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT