Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockport Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2011

Our son was school choiced into RMS. We were impressed with the structured curriculum. However disappointed in the fact that all of my sons peers who were choiced in have expressed to me that the teachers do a lot of yelling and do not seem enthusiastic about teaching. I feel that exceptional teachers know how to motivate their students by creative lesson planning and appealing to their students desire to learn. There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of that going on. My son comes from West Parish and I can't say enough good about the quality of those teachers and The Parent involvement, granted many of them got bumped to the Charter School. I also received a lot of negative feedback about the fact that The Rockport Students are very reluctant to accept students being choiced in. My sons friends have claimed to be bullied, harrassed and continously made fun of by Rockport Students with little or no discipline from teachers. This is alarming due to the fact that they just had a student who committed suicide. I think Rockport should be briefing their students on empathy and welcoming new students. We are now taking a look at Private Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

this school is really good.i go there and i love it.i will go to rockport high school also.


Posted April 27, 2009

As a former student, now a freshman at Rockport High School, I think I can safely comment on this school now. Overall, my teachers were very unsatisfactory, with few exceptions, those being Mr. Bob Allia, Mrs. Mcwilliams, and Ms. Briana Riddel. Among the myriad of problems the school has is the tendency for teachers to fail to teach something vital to the coursework because the students 'won't need to know it until high school'. Then, of course, when these students do get to high school, the teachers up there are stupefied as to why they didn't learn that bit of information in middle school. I wish I could write a longer review. In summary: Send your kid to Ipswich. Don't let them get trapped in this school system, like I did. Now it's too late.


Posted April 24, 2007

My son is in High School now, the Rockport principal and staff are great supports for him. My son's journey has been an education for all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I have two children in the RMS and they complain to me about having lunch at 10 AM. They are ravenous by the time they get home. The surprising thing is that they complain to me that they are bored in class and wish they could learn much more. They report the classes moving too slow. They said they wished that RMS had advance 'other' classes and not just advanced math. It seems they are not being challenged educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

Middle school lacks parent involvement. Small classrooms are a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

I can safely say that this school district is indeed top notch. As with any faculty, there are some that are not worth the money paid to them, but the vast majority are here, teaching, because they love their job. We have the benefit of really being able to compare this district with 4 others. All 4 others pale in comparison. If you are the parent of a struggling learner, you can se sure that RES, and RMS have the best, and latest teaching tools for those who struggle. Also, because my children span all three schools, I can now speak about the high school. Ms. Paquin has gone out of her way to ensure my highschoolers educational plan remains intact. Even hiring new highly qualified teachers to do so. It continues to be a pleasure parenting Rockport school district children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

That school was the best. My daughter made so many friends there and the staff and the people who enroll there are very helpful. My daughter got straight A's and liked all of the newest teachers there like Ms.Goodhue. When we moved I think it was a big mistake because their is no other school like it. So if you need a good school go to Rockport Mass to enroll your child/childern today!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female84%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students59%
Female45%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female92%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students50%
Female59%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female94%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female60%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female57%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26 Jerden's Ln
Rockport, MA 01966
Phone: (978) 546-1250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Ann School
Gloucester, MA


Faith Christian School
Gloucester, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT