Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Rockport, MA

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rockport High School 3

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rockport High School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Rockport High School 2

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
Lacks activities. Lacks professional coaches for sports. Lacks school team spirit. Lacks challenging my kids educationally even though they are in honors - And the principal is the worst... There isn't enough space to write the problems due to his lack of follow through and inability to listen to parents, kids and staff. You can even ask the teachers, in private of course. Mention his name, they just frown and shake their heads. And the school lacks social services for kids and families BIG time.

Rockport High School 3

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
My child is an 8th grader and we are about to leave. Core class education is good, however small school favoritism is evident. Seems like the same students chosen for roles in plays, in athletics. Limited afterschool activities, and I don't see much parent participation at the middle school. Maybe that's normal. May be due to vision and/or lack money. They have a new superintendent - maybe there will be improvements. Either great teachers or poor teachers.

Rockport High School 2

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
The school does very little to help the students that are floundering. There seems to be great favoritism toward the ones who succeed with little effort. My child came home one semester with all failing grades(her own fault ) but not one teacher contacted me to let me know what was going on. Progress reports are only sent via e-mail and if you don't have an e-maill address or haven't signed up then no effort is made to contact you.


Rockport High School 4

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
Both, my wife and daughter('07) have graduated from RHS. High % of 'highly qualified' teachers and good standardized test scores. Every student has an opportunity to fit in here. Opportunities abound for AP offerings, student activities, sports, etc. Each teacher learned about my daughters abilities and pushed her to excel. I am thrilled to have had my daughter have her HS experience at RHS.

Rockport High School 3

Posted May 28, 2006
- a parent
The benefits of it being such a small school like small classes and the teachers knowing all the students are equally as big a problem for the school. If a student struggles or gets in trouble even once,word travels incredibly fast not just through the school but throughout the town and that student can almost be 'marked'. The system can be as supportive as it is challenging. Parents are very involved as teachers and coaches which again can be positive and negative. Favoritism and,as other parents stated,'pigeon-holing' is quite evident.Teacher quality seems to run the extremes, either really great or really awful. Students with learning issues and those that excel in school do well but the average student,unless self-motivated,can easily flounder and/or fail with support often coming too little to late. Sports are no-cut but playing time is not always based on ability. Music program is great. Extra-curriculars are limited.

Rockport High School 2

Posted February 25, 2004
- a parent
Could be a very good school, there are some excellant teachers, but all of the pitfalls of a small school system are glaring in this school, fronm pigeon-holing kids, parents working as coaches, favoritism, and on and on, and nobody seems willing to take a good look at them. On the other hand the some of the advantages of a small system are there, they just do not compensate for the disadvantages.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rockport High School
24 Jerden's Ln, Rockport, MA  01966
(978) 546-1234
Last modified Rockport High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rockport High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top