Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help/Mission Grammar School

Private | PK-8 | 32 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in ROXBURY CROSSING

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

I am parent here and I must say my child will not be returning. The middle school's curriculum is not challenging at all. Absolutely terrible math program and no field trips. My daughter is unhappy and feels bored. She did meet great friends, but will not send her again next year....(might pull her out this year because she is so bored with the material)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

Mission Grammar is the best school in Boston. The teachers are intelligent, motivated and caring. They are truly part of our family and I trust them with my son becuase I know that he is genuinely cared for. They also do an excellend job of giving him individualized support allowing him to overcome obsatcles and excell at his strength.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

BEST SCHOOL IN BOSTON!!! THE TUITION PAID IS WELL WORTH WHAT YOUR CHILD IS GETTING IN RETURN. ALL OF THE PARENTS IN MY CIRCLE HAVE CHILDREN AT MISSION GRAMMAR AND WE LOVE THE SCHOOL!! THE TEACHERS ARE KNOWLEDGEABLE AND THEY TRULY ARE ABOUT THE STUDENTS.


Posted June 10, 2013

My children absolutely love Mission Grammar School. There are in the middle school and cannot imagine being at any other school. Maura Bradley, the school's Principal, is superb in every way. Students and parents alike think the world of Ms. Bradley. She really cares about our students. The assistant principal, Ms. Dutson is a wonderful new addition to the school's leadership. Mission Grammar is the best of the best and my children will be there until they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Mission Grammar School does not represent what a catholic institution should be. It runs more like a business. The school charges unbelievable amounts of money and the students are barely learning. The principal or her direct staff aren't nice people, whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

This school is in dire need of new leadership and better teachers because the education is truly lacking in all areas. It is ashame that parents pay for this subpar education because the students are so ill-prepared for a challenging high school. Just ask the principal about the marginal standardized test scores and her plans to help the ones who are struggling and watch the baffled look. This school needs to be shut down and sold and the proceeds given to better performing Catholic schools ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school could be one of the best schools in america great teachers,staff and principal
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

As a Mission Grammar parent for the past 4 years, my husband & I feel that we have made a great choice towards our child's future. The school population is small & there is a great sense of community among the faculty/staff & students; also the faculty/staff are dedicated professionals who love education & love the children. Extracurricular activities & additions to the curriculum such as Art & Music are up & coming & I would like to see more parent involvement with the school's Family Organization. Overall, I think that Mission Grammar is one of Boston's (Roxbury's) hidden jewels & I am proud that our scholar (that's what the students are referred to as) will be following the footsteps of other alumni relatives/friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Mission Grammar is a school where all children are nurtured, challenged, and successful. The best decision I have made for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

Mission Grammar is an AMAZING SCHOOL. I am the proud parent of an 8th grader. My son came home after his first day of school and said 'Mom I have the best teacher this year and he is new'. I was so happy to see that my son liked school. I want to thank Mr. Mihal for his endless commitment to my son's education. Thanks for everything Mr. Mihal you have changed my son's life! God Bless you and Mission
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I highly recommend this school to all families seeking a quality experience for thier child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Very good school, my son has been attending this school since k2 and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

Mission Gramar is a school I am proud to say my daughter attends .My daughter is in 3rd grade and boy does it bring back memeories for me having attended the school myself. Miss Bradley is an awesome well rounded leader who know and addresses you by name. My daughter is getting an excellent education. Thank you Mission Grammar , especially Miss McCarthy and Miss Hemmelgarn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Mission Grammar is a second home to my children. The entire staff and faculty love the children and are very dedicated. The principal has brought wonderful change to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

My daughter attended Mission Grammar and it was a great experience for her that I joyfully shared with her. Although the extracurricular activities need to be addressed with more attention, the principal is extremely warm, loving, compassionate and caring. these are attributes that are shared by the whole faculty however in a very discipline orientated environemnt. This creates an environment where teh children feel safe and learn alot because of all the love but more importantly also realising that boundaries exist and consequences follow once the boundaries are not respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

I send my 2 children to Mission Grammar. The teachers and principal are wonderful. My older son went onto an elite private school in Boston. We are very happy with Mission Grammar and highly recomment this school.


Posted July 24, 2007

Mission Grammar School is an amazing school with a welcoming atmosphere. The principal is dedicated, kind, and in touch with all children and there families. The teachers work long hours and hold high expectations for all students. There is a clear and consistant discipline policy which is based on Responsive Classroom. My 3 children love Mission Grammar School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Mission Grammar School has a great faculty and wonderful educators. But the principal and discipline policy are non existent. There is no consistency with punishment when children break school rules. This leads to chaos and will eventually lead to great downfall of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I feel that this inner-city Catholic school has some of the most dedicated and hardworking teachers, and my child attended a school before this one. Leadership and extra-curricular activities are lacking, the teachers and their work ethic make a huge difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 8%
Hispanic 34% 16%
Two or more races 13% 3%
White 1% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94 Saint Alphonsus Street
ROXBURY CROSSING, MA 02120
Phone: (617) 442-2660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tobin K-8 School
Roxbury, MA



Farragut
Boston, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT