Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Salem, MA

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saltonstall School 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
Saltonstall is a innovative, multiple intelligence based k-8 school in a diverse and culturally rich community. The scool program is multi age classroom, extended day and extended year. The school has experienced growing pains with its recent expansion to 8th grade but the ship appears to be righting with committed leadership and parental involvement. The majority of hte teachers are very committed and shared leadership with the administration is fostered whenever possible.

Saltonstall School 3

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
The Saltonstall school in Salem, MA is nice but leaves a lot to be desired acedemically and socially. This school is going through some major transitions this year. With a new principal on board and the relocation of the students/staffl for the upcoming school year due to major renovations. Getting any type of feedback from my childs teachers regarding tests, homework and basic class issues is atroshish! The lack of teacher / parent communication is a very big concern. It's tough to establish relationships at this school because most of the parents that volunteer are a tight group that stay to themselves. It's nice to see the groups of friendships but sometimes you may feel like you are the outside looking in. I do not feel like my child is obtaining the best education at this school and we are considering leaving. I do hope this insight helps.


Saltonstall School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I love Saltonstall for so many reasons but mostly how much they focus on each childs learning style! You can tell the kids and staff love being there!

Saltonstall School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I love the Saltonstall school for a number of reasons. Our extended day, extended year, multi-age classroom program focuses on the Multiple Intelligences Theory for instructional purposes. This program helps to determine each of our students best learning processes and helps them to apply those processes to their individual learning styles. More importantly, Saltonstall is committed not only to the students, but to the entire community. Our students are taught from day 1 the importance of teamwork, effort, caring and responsibility, which we refer to as "Saltonstall Pride". They are encouraged to give of themselves for betterment of others and the entire community.

Saltonstall School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I have been a parent of Saltonstall for 8 years. I have three children that currently attend this school. As each of my children are unique in their own way they have been able to demonstrate what they learn in various ways due to the multiple intelligences way of teaching. The staff are exceptional. They instill a love of learning, a passion for being involved in your community, and the respect and understanding of the importance of diversity, that each child has their own voice and as a team anything is possible. I could go on and on. This school not only has a phenomenal staff, they also encourage and appreciate parent involvement. Every Friday you will find between 30-40 parents and community volunteers at the school to run various Friday Clubs. It is truly a special place to be!


Saltonstall School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is able to rely on teachers, paras and friends to see her through the day. She loves school and that she gets to learn by using multiple intelligences. I love the extended day, extended year so that my child is learning during the critical years of her life.

Saltonstall School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Saltonstall is a GREAT community of students, professionals, volunteers, parents... all working hard to raise happy, healthy, intelligent, aware, and responsible people. Caring, Effort, Teamwork and Responsibility! Saltonstall Pride!

Saltonstall School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Everyone is dedicated--teachers, parents, students--and the school has great academics, great community, and a joyful spirit of learning.


Saltonstall School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Love the year round schedule. The Saltonstall pride - caring, effort, teamwork and responsibility the kids practice. The family atmosphere. Friday clubs which connect the kids to the community and inspires all involved!

Saltonstall School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Saltonstall Pride...teachers, students, parents & the community all working together in harmony to be the best that we can be!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saltonstall School
211 Lafayette St, Salem, MA  01970
(978) 740-1297
Last modified Saltonstall School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saltonstall School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top