Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salem High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 9 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

There are teachers here who truely care about their students and making sure they are learning and then there are teachers who are here because of tenure. The teachers who love their job stick out and they make their classes interesting and easy to learn in the enviroment they create.


Posted April 24, 2013

This school, like so many, will reward and educate those who put in the required effort. If one does not attend class or is consistently late than they will run into difficulty. Every year students from Salem end up everywhere from the Ivy League to the military to prison. It is what you make of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2012

not a student but the teachers and administration DID NOT support me, rather not go into details, but Salem High is THE WORST school I have had the displeasure of being associated with!


Posted February 25, 2012

in response to the last review, the High Schools are the beginning of a teenagers steps into adulthood. They have to come on time for class it gets them ready for a job in the world. If your late for work all the time your boss isn't going to say well at least you showed up, you will be replaced by someone who is responsible enough to come in on time. As for its an achievement to just get them to go, its you job as a parent to make sure your child gets an education and becomes a reponsible and respectable adult so they can make this world better for the next generation. You sound like a lazy parent. School is what you make of it your child gets what you put into him or her.You should punish your child for being late. Its rude to keep other waiting.


Posted October 26, 2010

This school should not punish kids for being late for school. Just getting them to go is an achievment. All it does is just make the student hate being there even more. Be glad that he or she shows up.


Posted November 25, 2009

I like this school. And I am currently a Junior. When I first started in 2007 I believe, the school was under construction and some parts were being rebuilt. Near the end of my freshman year, the construction was done, and it was better than before. The teachers are nice and there is many electives. Of course there are clique problems. But every schools have that. I dont belong to a 'clique', but it is fun making and getting to know others. Pep rallies at this school are really fun and spirit week is amazing. Teachers usually have daybacks. Which is when a student can stay to catch up, or get help. But that is IF the students stayed, but most of the time, students dont tke advantage of the chances. MCAS scores in Salem High are always on the raise
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

Salem HIgh is a fairly good school for motivated students who are willing to challenge themselves in honors and A.P. classes. It is not a good place for kids who need to be pushed. There are some excellent teachers but you will find a few who are truly terrible. Socially, most kids seem to be happy. There is something for everyone in terms of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

This school is like any other highschool, you need to learn how to take advantage of what it has. You learn to become a more ambitious student as well as develop your social skills. If you want a good education bad enough you will succeed and learn something. It has groups and cliques but what highschool doesn't? For the most part the students I have met there are open to anyone. They have a strong athletic program and great coaches which support students with that they do on and off the field.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

This is probably the worst school on the North Shore, as proven by it's rating. The entire faculty, including the deans, seems to be made up of the most incompetent people the city could find. The teachers offer little help to students struggling with grades, the most they can offer a student is one hour a week after school. Do NOT send your children here, please listen to this warning. Send them to ANY high school within a 100 mile radius before you send them to Salem High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2008

I am unsatisfied with the communication skills of the teachers and house advisor. For example, I did not receive one of the report cards in the mail, and I was met with indifference and disbelief that such a thing could happen ( my daughter is on the honour role, so there was no lifting it out of the mail on her part). I never did rcv it by the way. I had several major surgeries over the last 6 months and when I enquired with the head master if there was some sort of communication board for parents to help with this ( transportation ) I was told that I could pay $200.00 to catch the bus. This would be fine, but the bus stop was half way to school and I am unable to walk. The point I am making is that there was no help in finding a solution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

Ill have to say this school is not properly put together. First lets start off with the teachers, most of them are nice, but some of them get in your buisness and are very nosey. These teachers then like to point out the students problems they are having and announce them to the class those teachers are not considerate of the kids privacy. The deans are cool, I wont name one of the deans name, but she can play power trips on you like no other. Oh and kids that are new to the school there new thing this year is 'inhouse', So if you were to ever come late possibly like a minute late you will be thrown in inhouse...no exceptions thats if you dont go to your detention after school for an hour. enjoy your stay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

i hate salem high its the worst school and i am not getting the education i deserve!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

This school has bad clique problems. This school also doesn't have very good discipline. I would not recomend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

The teachers are very helpful and make class kinda fun, activites are pleanty , and the only thing that I'd really complain about is the lunch, but that's to be expected. Oh and of course there are going to be cliques and groups, they're going to be in every school. Some of what was wrong with the school had to do with it's previous principal, but the new one is extremly nice and helpful. So, yea it's not like the best-est-est school in the world but it is indeed a good one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

I do NOT recommend sending your kid to this school. There is also alot of cliques and groups. I would not recommend this school at alllll...save yourself and your child from stress...I went to salem high and it was the worst highschool experience I have ever had. This school is a total disappointment. I give this school no stars at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2006

As with everything in life, it is what you make of it. I have been an alumnus for over four years and Salem High was one of the best times of my life. Yes, it is diverse, multicultural and somewhat dated but that does not take away from the education and the quality of the teachers and subjects.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 23, 2005

I personelly went to salem high school and I thought it was horrible. No one wants to be there they don't even have that many extra activities unless you are a cheerleeder or football player
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2005

Having been a student Of Salem high I've found that the school is very urban, much of the school is falling apart and rats are now a part of the school.It's not the most dangerous but is not among the safest and is far from it. Positives the school has very good sport teams and the school is very diverse, plus test scores are on the rise but drop outs are also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2005

As of 2005-2006 school year, the school has changed from a traditional 7 period day to block scheduling (4 periods every other day--so the student takes eight courses). The students make up a diverse population and the school is large. There is some parent involvement and the school is very competitive (along with neighboring cities) in sports (male and female). The school has an active music and culinary art department as well. Difficulties that are strictly administrative, are beginning to take it's toll on students and staff moral. MCAS scores are improving every year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2005

We have a sophomore attending SHS and are pleased with her academic progress and involvement in the drama and music programs. We found both programs exceptional, with very involved and devoted leadership & staff, but not well supported by the administration,(financially and in spirit) which favors the sports programs (also excellent!) Like any school there are so-so teachers and some that are truly brilliant, innovative, and great role models. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the current principal. We found her unapproachable and not well-liked by most students and staff. Since most work, parent involvement is quite low but those who do volunteer are extremely devoted, dedicated and hard-working. Overall a good, not great school, but parents should keep a close eye on their children to ensure they're on the right path. By the way, the Guidance Dept is wonderful and very helpful and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial90%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities52%
English language learners15%

Math

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial80%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners15%

Science

All Students64%
Female67%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners6%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracial50%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners31%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

67%

Average SAT score

1385

Graduation rate

79%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 67%
Hispanic 34% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

77 Willson St
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: (978) 740-1123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Swampscott High School
Swampscott, MA


Marblehead High School
Marblehead, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT