Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Salem Academy Charter School 4

Posted November 10, 2013
- a parent
This is hands-down the best school in Salem. Overall, I'd say it has a private school feel, and its small size means kids can feel comfortable quickly. Academics are above average in terms of rigor, and teachers are responsive for the most part. Yes, there is a relatively high degree of discipline and a lot of homework, but I feel this is better than the alternatives prevalent at other schools. Extracurriculars are markedly improving, with the list of options growing every year. Facilities are relatively poor, but also improving with the addition of more space (they also make use of city facilities and parks). As noted in other reviews, the arts are relatively weak, but again getting better. My kids have attended 4 other schools in the district, and Salem Academy stands out.

Salem Academy Charter School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
this is a great school i go here,we have the nicest teachers and everyone gets involved in activities at our school.the teachers and students here at sacs have made it possible for every student to succeed and reach for college.


Salem Academy Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a student
Well..Im not going to even give this forsaken school any stars. I've been at this school for way too long, andit's taking its toll. I have come to find that over the years...This school has sucked.....But..I have to admit it's gotten better. They have more options for athletics. Im a returning soccer, basketball,softball, and now cross country member. Salem academy is coplex to descrice exactly. It...It works its students a little too hard, also it 'babys' the students too much. As a student..I feel it should offer more independance. I personaly do not like the manditory service learning....And i do not like the fact that it has limited to offer in the classes. I would like to take shop classes..Like wood shop or mechanics. I would like to be exposed to other languages and have the opourtunity to study another language other than spanish. Ive taken spanish for the past six years.

Salem Academy Charter School 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
It is a great school the teachers the students activities children get in and the respect the director teachers and students have for each other couldnt ask for a better school for my child

Salem Academy Charter School 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
Compared to the other Salem Public school's this school ROCKS! Very positive enviroment focusing on community service and college prep. A free public school choice with a private school feel.Including but not limited to dress code etc. Serving over 25 Ma. communities


Salem Academy Charter School 4

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
Great school, good academic program, tutoring is mandatory for all kids below acceptable benchmarks. Dress code. Grades available online.

Salem Academy Charter School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
Udate- sports include soccer, basketball, softball and track. Gym close to facility is now used. Now has a solid music and arts program. Free/mandatory tutoring.

Salem Academy Charter School 0
no rating

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
This school is terrible. There is no sports program, the building is falling down, the teachers are mean and impatient, They over use discipline in unneccesary situations. Last there is absolutely no school community.


Salem Academy Charter School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
The school is solid academically, much better than the local middle school. Problems are inadequate facilities, excessive use of discipline and not much to offer in the arts.

Salem Academy Charter School 3

Posted January 26, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Salem Academy Charter School
45 Congress St, Salem, MA  01970
(978) 744-2105
Last modified Salem Academy Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Salem Academy Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.