Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandwich High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Grant, Mrs. Kinchla and a few more who seem to really care about the students

Sandwich High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
There are some really great teachers who have made a wonderful impact on my children. Unfortunately they are over- shadowed by a horrible administration. I've had many teachers tell me that it's pretty bad for them as well.


Sandwich High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
My children have rarely had homework. They watch a lot of movies, for instance " Girl interrupted " for psych class?

Sandwich High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Again, yes, in the negative sense. More like an " I won't let you break me" type of determination.

Sandwich High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Not the right kind of respect, but you must respect the principal. I don't have respect for the admin. After many years of witnessing the corruption, it's more of a regime and you must obey.


Sandwich High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Again, they protected an employee over a student. They've had a lot of bad press and chose to save face instead of being honest.

Sandwich High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
We had a situation where an administrator lied to us, we have proof of this lie and nothing was done. We found an attorney who made several attempts to resolve the issue, the schools attorney doesn't respond to his messages either. We finally switched schools. Ultimately, This was the best choice.

Sandwich High School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
The administration is a disgrace, they lie, they don't get their phone messages, repeated mistakes that you will have to make sure get corrected, they stick their heads in the sand and cover their own backsides. It's all about the principle and no one dare go against her. We finally switched schools and wish we had done it sooner. The superintendent is a very nice man but Clearly needs to retire, he seemed genuinely concerned but not enough to confront the issue. Unfortunately, the damage that they have done to our child can not be undone, but they have taught us the " not everything is fair" lesson.


Sandwich High School 2

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Sadly, much of the criticism is still very accurate. The best improvement to SHS is the new track and football field - but guidance dept and administration remain the same. 8th graders are fleeing this system so that they don't end up here. Top colleges? Many at SHS end up at Plymouth State, UMass, Bridgewater State or other unheard of schools. Kids with 4.2 GPA's don't get into Northeastern because of SHS rankings and consideration by college admissions officers. The guidance department is a disgrace, and if you are college minded, your will have to help your child every step of the way to not only pick a school based on their goals and interests, you will have to monitor every step of the process (transcript requests go unfulfilled, things don't arrive on time, etc) With years of serious dedication and an administration overall, I hope that SHS can be a place that students want to attend again. For now, it remains no good.

Sandwich High School 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
The Sandwich schools offer opportunity and prepare the students for colleges like Harvard, Tufts, William and Mary, Stonehill, Keene State, UConn, Catholic University, BC, BU, Yale, etc. There's also a strong focus on the arts and community! Moving my children from private schools back to the Sandwich public schools proved to be a good decision.

Nearby schools

Sandwich High School
365 Quaker Meeting House Road, Sandwich, MA  02537
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (508) 888-4900
Last modified Sandwich High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top