Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riverview School

Private | 6-12 | 112 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sandwich

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $342,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

This school is okay for the most part. I have noticed though that a lot of the students here don't appear to have any social or academic problems. A lot of the kids here seem 100 percent normal to me. The really good thing about this school though is that bullying is very rare here compared to most schools. So overall I'd say that even though this school doesn't really have kids here with actual disabilities it's still a very friendly place.


Posted February 28, 2014

My daughter attended Riverview School from the 10th grade through a forth year of the GROW program. She is a young lady with autism spectrum disorder, a slightly below average IQ, and a tremendous desire to learn. At Riverview she thrived, being given the opportunity to express herself, learn important life skills, make wonderful friends and above all develop a sense of self that has allowed her to be successful in her transition to independent living. I am so proud of her every day and realize that the staff and teachers at Riverview deserve many thanks for their support and for working tirelessly to provide my daughter with an environment that was nurturing, practical, challenging and unforgetable! What she took away is irreplacable. We will be forever grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

Riverview School was a life saver for our family and especially for our daughter! She's on the autism spectrum, very bright & determined, but needed a strong, comprehensive program where the expectations and goals were consistent across residential, social, and school life. That was Riverview! After 4 years there, she left at 21 because she felt competent and excited to go out in the world! She's worked in a restaurant ever since, using many skills she learned at school. Since returning home, she's also gotten a driver's license, bought her own car, and is saving to start her own business, all things that were unthinkable when she went away to school there! Riverview helped guide her (and us) towards achieving her many goals, and we'll be forever indebted to the dedicated, caring, smart, and well appointed staff. There were all types of students there, some with obvious deficits, others that displayed very few issues, and all had friends, a place to bloom and grow, and became accepting and loving towards all. What a gift! I only really wish there was a school like this in every single community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

Riverview School provided our daughter with the knowledge, experience and most importantly, the confidence to go out into the world, become employed, become a contributing member of her community and to live independently in her own apartment. None of that would have been possible without the tools Riverview gave her. Many kids with disabilities have trouble becoming active participants in school. At Riverview, all students have the opportunity to play on the sports teams, have the lead role in the school play, go to the school prom and have friends with whom they can enjoy all the normalcies of adolescence. This is a priceless gift and the confidence it inspires, in both students and their families, allows them to become independent adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

Our daughter has attended Riverview since her freshman year of high school. She graduated, then transitioned to GROW, the post-high school program. We feel so fortunate that she's had the opportunity to develop her academic, social and independence skills as a member of this supportive and caring learning community. Her self advocacy skills have blossomed, as have friendships with her peers. As in any school, there is a range of ability and issues among the student body, but what is most important and clearly evident are the strengths and talents of each individual student. The beauty of Riverview is the way each student is supported to achieve their personal best and accepted as the unique individual they are. Our daughter sees herself as a capable young woman and has gained the skills to manage her life successfully as a young adult. We believe this self confidence will enable her to be successful! Employment and independent living are achievable goals thanks to all she has gained as a student at Riverview. Administration, staff and faculty have always communicated openly and professionally, been open to our concerns and displayed respect for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

I agree this is not a good choice for higher-functioning students. I was there from 2009-2012 and at first it was great, then the population got lower-functioning each year. Now, its all kids with Down syndrome or severe delays and such. The staff gossip behind students' back expecting them not to hear it. They also are so obsessed with it being "individualized" that soon they turn that into making excuses individualized to each child rather than helping them overcome their issues. After-school activities weren't structured enough, basically all we did was watch games in the gym or sit around bored. Summer program is too repetitive. I was there 4 years and it didn't change a bit. The health & wellness program scared kids to death over things unlikely to happen.


Posted April 11, 2012

This school is great if your child has no way of ever livving on their own If however they are high functioning and have an IQ above 70 this is definitely not the school for them, The staff have no idea how to teach or deal with a student who can actually speak their mind or advocate for themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

This LD boarding school is phenominal. From the teachers, dorm staff and adminatration it rates an A is our book. It is particularly good with kids with complex neurological issues involving language. Every child has friends here and that is the real magic of this school. They bloom and grow and find their own voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 67%
Hispanic 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NAPSEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

551 Route 6A
Sandwich, MA 02537
Phone: (508) 888-0489

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Ridge
East Sandwich, MA


Henry T Wing
Sandwich, MA


Forestdale
Forestdale, MA


Veritas Academy
Barnstable County, MA



Cape Cod Academy
Barnstable, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT