Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Veterans Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
The "Vets" is a school that I am proud to say my son attends. He began his schooling (grade 1-2) at OLA in Lynnfield and then we made the switch to public. I am proud to say I attended the old Vets school and this one is fantastic. It has all the latest and greatest amenities and offers a perfect learning environment for the children. My son loves it there and is sad that this is his last year at the school. I strongly encourage anyone considering Saugus to make sure you buy in the Vets school district.

Veterans Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a community member
I was in the first class of the original Vet's school. It was built on a clay pit where my brothers and I used to play. It was pretty exciting to watch the. "steam shovels" fill in the Pitts and watch the school being built. We are spent the first half of 1st grade at the Felton School and then moved over to the Vet's when it was completed,,Mr Zeke Shuff was principal and my. Mom worked in the cafeteria. What a great bunch of teachers. It really was the best of times Ken O Connor


Veterans Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
We have had a great experience so far.. My son has been there since pre-k and is now in 1st grade. The principal has been so helpful and the teachers he has had have been awesome.

Veterans Memorial Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
I dont know what planet those last ratings came from. I have had to fight for every little accomodation for my children. If your child does not have profound disabilities watch out because there is nothing left in the buget for your child in this school system.

Veterans Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
Ther person who wrote that they spend too much money on teachers salaries and not enough on the kids is poorly misguided. Teachers are the lowest paid professionals to date, yet they chose to become teachers, not to be rich, but to make a difference. They have the most profound affect on the development of our children both mentally, emotionally, and morally - so when you say they don't spend enough on our kids, what exactly are you referring to? In my opinion, you could never pay a teacher enough for the gifts they give. We're not talking college professors here.


Veterans Memorial Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
We just moved to MA and our son goes to the Vets. He is in 2nd grade and I am very impressed with his teacher and progress so far. He has an IEP and for the first time my son is learning to read and doing well. Despite the budget cuts this is a wonderful school.

Veterans Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a community member
Veterans Memorial School is a wonderful learning environment. Despite the horrible budget cuts and conditions throughout the town of Saugus, the Vet's staff pulls through once again! The teachers and paraprofessionals are amazingly committed to the education of all learners. Keep up the hard work, you deserve more!

Veterans Memorial Elementary School 3

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
Overcrowded, The pricipal and teachers are great. they spend too much money on teachers salarys instead of the kids. This is the only new school in the district. the rest of the schools sre falling down.


Veterans Memorial Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2004
- a parent
This brand new school is becoming overcrowded due to the closing of the Evans, and Ballard schools, teacher layoffs, and budget cuts beyond reason. There is plenty of money in this town, despite what town officials say. It's amazing that this school is still providing quality education, but thanks to it's excellent leadership by Victor Leone, and many well educated staff the school is 'making the grade' in both regular, and special education. Both of my children will be there for another 3-4 years.

Nearby schools

Veterans Memorial Elementary School
39 Hurd Avenue, Saugus, MA  01906
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (781) 231-8166
Last modified Veterans Memorial Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top