Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Inly School

Private | PK-8 | 269 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Scituate

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $440,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2011

We are privileged to have our child in their 11th year at this wonderful school. Their greatest strength is a holistic approach to education and emphasis on both the individual and a healthy social environment where values such as tolerance, kindness, and altruism are embedded in all that takes place. The building blocks of the Inly community start with multi-age classrooms which allow children to learn and develop these values and to work at a variety of levels. The classroom structure creates a leadership role for each elder level: K, 3, 6 and 8. Self-confidence, one s role in the community and comfort with adults and children of all ages are fostered through drama, experiential learning, and sports programs. These values and the student s struggle with them are exemplified in the MS Open Water Rowing Program. Teenagers of all types, many at the peak of self-awareness are required to put their egos aside to learn to row and work as a team to power a wooden rowboat through the Harbor. I highly recommend Inly School as a place where your child will be nurtured as an individual while learning how they fit into a community that really does instill a life-long love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

Inly School is quite simply one of the best decisions we've made for ourselves and our two daughters. We're in our seventh year at Inly now and are rewarded every day with our daughters' joy for learning and their respect for themselves and others. The faculty are such an amazing and dedicated group of individuals, who go that extra mile every day. The curriculum is challenging and engaging. I couldn't be more happy or grateful for the gift of the Inly community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

We found Inly after our public school proved a poor fit for my two oldest boys. My three kids are now K, 2 and 4; we have been part of the school for 2 years. I cannot describe the relief I felt after finding a place where my kids were encouraged to love learning again. Inly's teachers take the time to encourage individual talents and strengths while identifying and helping students overcome academic weaknesses. I have watched my boys open up and grow in ways they couldn't in the public school. Inly offers a very high quality education. It's a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

I started looking for a new school after attending public school for a while and being disappointed by the lack of challenges. Inly was the perfect place for me to grow as a student and person and explore what interested me. I completed both the Upper Elementary and Middle School programs and loved them. I had an incredible amount of fun while learning quite a bit. I was more prepared for high school than most of my peers and have been excelling. I credit Inly with this success and highly recommend it.


Posted October 4, 2010

We found Inly School when our daughter was three and we wanted her to get a little socialization, but not in an overly rigid environment. From her first weeks there, what I loved about it was how excited all the kids were to be there. She knew she was loved and welcomed for who she was. That little girl is now in the third grade at Inly, reading at a fifth grade level, playing competative sports and spending her summers at wilderness sleep away camp. She is confident, and self-sufficient, excited about the world and her place in it. That sense of belonging and acceptance she felt at three has become something she feels all the time, no matter where she is, because Inly breathed it into to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

I had attended the Inly School for eight years. I entered in the 2nd grade and left in the 6th. while i did have fun during my time there. compared to my school now. i have just realized that they are way to oriented on the arts. each "section" puts on a play during the school year. It turns out that the play takes preference over everything, sports, other activities, even school work. also during my first two years at inly i had a nap time. mid you i was in the 2-3 grade. as for the amount of students within my class there were altogether 12 students between 2 classes during the 4-6 grades. as for sports we had it twice a week and we would only play capture the flag. in all inly was and ok school


Posted January 26, 2010

We loved the Inly School for our two children. It's a very caring school with wonderful, committed teachers. The inidvidual attention works for all. Children learn indepencence as well as gain a love of learning. Highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Fantastic school, with strong montessori influence. Lots of individualized education and unique opportunities for Middle Schoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Black 3% 8%
Hispanic 3% 15%
Asian 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Named one of the "Best Schools of 2007" by Boston Magazine (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 3 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (781) 545-6522

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46 Watch Hill Drive
Scituate, MA 02066
Website: Click here
Phone: (781) 545-5544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


William G Vinal
Norwell, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT