Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Seekonk, MA
Students enrolled: 676

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seekonk High School 4

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
Teachers care. As with any school you have your bullies but SHS really puts forth effort in trying to control it. they have speakers come to the school to talk to both parents and students and I feel it is very helpful.

Seekonk High School 3

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
School has gone downhill since the last principal (Pat Connors) left. I graduated 2 years ago and as of 2007 the emphasis was on administration having total rigid control over students and faculty. This has come at the expense of turning what used to be a casual and comfortable learning environment into something resembling a boot camp. Aside from those issues, education is above average compared to other area schools. Teachers are good, classes are well-structured, and crime is relatively low.


Seekonk High School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seekonk High School 2

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seekonk High School 2

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Seekonk High School 5

Posted December 16, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Seekonk High School 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2007
- a student
Not completely impressed. Great exracurricular activities. Like other posters said some teachers actually care, some just show up and do nothing more than what they are being paid to do. Parent involvement is average. Safety and discipline is above average, if there is a problem in the school it is solved immediately. I am going to have to give the school a two because the teachers aren't that great, and if there isn't good teachers it makes it more difficult to learn.

Seekonk High School 3

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Seekonk High School 1

Posted September 21, 2007
- a student
Some teachers are good, some are bad. Theres alot of sports if that your thing, but extracurricular activities are pretty much limited to that. The classes are nothing special. The real problem is that there is no freedom at this school to do anything. The principal keeps making up ridiculous rules and takes our privliges away, and we end up not being able to do anything. Which is why i'm giving this school 1 star. I can't bring myself to even give it 2.

Seekonk High School 4

Posted September 04, 2007
- a student
Like the last poster said some teachers really care, but some teachers are just there for fun, don't really care about how the kids are doing. Most teachers want to get into your life, make sure your ok, checking how a team is doing. Parent involvment isn't that good, or that bad, parents aren't really getting to help out our school. The extracurricular activity is decent, like the one guy said you have all these sports and then some, but sports cost money and the activities he listed you hve to be good at stuff, like math, law, being helpful to others, and know how to play instruments. But the special needs program is very good, they have at least 15 helpers, and about 10 of them i know they put kids first, and help them out no matter what.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seekonk High School
261 Arcade Ave, Seekonk, MA  02771
(508) 336-7272
Last modified Seekonk High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seekonk High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top