Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Shirley, MA
Students enrolled: 386

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lura A White Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
we are new to the Shirley school system and it was an easy and welcoming transition

Lura A White Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
A very caring school, with great teachers and lot of parent support and involvement. Both my kids go there and they love it. Although as a parent I wish they had some newer equipment, more course options offered and that they move into the proposed new school building soon, I know that my kids are happy there. There is not much pressure/ stress in these formative years.


Lura A White Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
When it comes to Lura A. White, consider the expression 'don't judge a book by its cover'. As with any educational experience, you and your child get what you put into it. The teachers here are excellent at facilitating authentic learning experiences. In a time of an economic downturn LAW has done a great job maintaining their excellence in education.

Lura A White Elementary School 3

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at this school are very dedicated, and most are willing to make accommodations to meet the needs of each student. Many of the teachers are quite outstanding. The communication about school events and student activities needs improvement, and some of the office staff are unfriendly. The administration is also not as communicative with students and friendly as it was in the past, but there have been a great many improvements in the overall operation of the school. Our children have had a good experience at this school, and say that they would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Lura A White Elementary School 2

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
LAW's atmosphere is very cozy, and the staff try to keep the facility looking as nice as possible. However, the leadership at the school is lacking in communication with parents, and the curriculum of the school is behind more current education methods. For example, "monthly" newsletters are published only a few times per year, and notes home about activities often come home late or the day before the activity, giving parents little if any notice. The school is against parent involvement and does not respond to volunteer applications. Parents are not allowed to observe or visit children during the day or during lunch time. The curriculum itself is advanced and seems on par with other schools in the state, but at the expense of stifling children's creativity in order to cram scheduled activities and mounds of homework into their day. Children are scolded for reluctance to move on to new projects when they haven't finished the project they are working on, preventing any possible motivation for learning and favoring strict adherence to authority of teachers. Lunch offerings appear to be healthy and well priced. The extended day program is value priced, but you get what you pay for.


Lura A White Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school with caring teachers and staff. The building accommodations may lack a bit, but "she's got it where it counts". We have been very happy with the personal nature of the teachers and really feel at home with our kids in this school.

Lura A White Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
LAW school is a wonderful experience for my child. It was easy for me to get to know the teachers, and all the ones I have worked with are highly capable and enjoy working with kids. My child every morning wakes up and asks me '...Is today a school day mom? Can I go?' Highly rewarding to see him so excited to go to school. He is learning in leaps and bounds, is excited to be there and has made many friends.

Lura A White Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lura A White Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2006
- a teacher
The school has definately made alot of progress in the last few years. I have been overall happy with the staff the principal is a great person and works to insure each child feels welcome and works very hard with parents. The parental involvement is also increasing as the town changes I see all good to come for the Shirley school district.

Lura A White Elementary School 1

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lura A White Elementary School
34 Lancaster Rd, Shirley, MA  01464
(978) 425-8600
Last modified Lura A White Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5
Lura A White Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top