Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

411 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic! This school doesn't teach to the tests like so many of the highly rated schools; it actually teaches kids to learn. The daily enrichment class lets the students pursue their own interests and work on skills that need improving. It teaches beyond the regular school curriculum to skills kids what really need to learn to be successful in life.

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
This school has more than surpassed my expectations. My child has been to some of the best public schools in the country so we were very concerned when we came to this school system. The staff here is caring, engaging, and intelligent. They are readily available for communication and want to help each student to be their best. The enrichment class period is one of the best and most unique things about this curriculum. The children get to pursue academic studies that interest them every day to keep them enthusiastic about school. I was concerned about the 6-day rotating schedule, but love it; it keeps the schedule fresh and reduces boredom. I also appreciate that, although there is no G&T program, they do have ability leveling and provide advanced curriculum programming. The school district is new and building their resources. Give them a chance and you will not be disappointed.


Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
The program has improved dramatically since regionalization. The curriculum is more rigorous and the offerings have expanded greatly. The opportunities for extra curricular activities have improved as well and the drama, chorus and band programs are very impressive. Great leadership, great involvement and improving instruction and curriculum.

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2014
- a community member
The writer below has been to that school and hated it for the students in it. The students are punky and thed school i am in now is 50 times better than that school ever dreamed of.

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 4

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
I find it interesting that the below reviewer made assumptions about who wrote the reviews. I am giving this school 4 stars because it is an academically challenging environment, my children like their teachers, and there are lots of things to get involved with. There is a high level of professionalism here. And to the below reviewer, we HAVE been to other schools and have a very good sense of what is out there.


Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
We are so happy with this school. My daughter loves it! She feels well-known by her teachers and is academically challenged. The building is warm and welcoming and the administration has a clear handle on things. Love Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School!

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
The poor reviews given here were written well before Ayer and Shirley regionalized. Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School now has a wealth of opportunities for students, including advisory periods in smaller groups that help the students and staff to become better acquainted and to learn how to work well together as a community. The school has a wonderful principal and vice principal who are dedicated to each and every child, and the students in the upper grades can now even participate in high school sports. This school review service can be helpful, but you must take it with a grain of salt. Outdated reviews from a few who may have had a bad experience several years ago do not represent this excellent school. Our children are in good hands at ASRMS!

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
I am glad we did not heed the postings here. Our daughter is new to the Shirley school system and is having an excellent experience socially and academically. The faculty and administration are very caring and capable.


Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 1

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
Both schools in this district are deplorable. Some of the teachers are dedicated to excellence while many others are not or are simply inexperienced. It is not all about the faculty but mostly due to $$. Their guidance is horrible and indeed the other poster is right, they spend more time with the victims of bullies with what the victim could do to cope with the situation than they do with the bullies and their punishment. All the latter is primarily a consequence of $$ cuts the schools have had to endure. We're considering leaving (choice-out) which many have recently. Sadly the voters in this town are so ignorant that choice-outers will cost them a lot more money or cuts in their services. My child deserves better and can't even get a bus ride in this town.

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School 1

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
This school is a disgrace! It protects the students that are bullies and punishes the children that stand up to them. Never in my life have I seen teachers & faculty that care so little about their students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School
1 Hospital Road, Shirley, MA  01464
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (978) 772-8600
Last modified Ayer Shirley Regional Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top