Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Somerville, MA
Students enrolled: 526

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arthur D. Healey School 3

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Our son went to the Healey for four years during a period of significant turmoil. The school administration eliminated the Choice Magnet Program while he was there, forcing a "unification" of the magnet school with the neighborhood school. While the goal was noble, the implementation was very sudden and awkward, and many good parents pulled their kids out of the school. At the same time, the principal changed essentially every year. In the end, I think the place has settled down somewhat. I appreciated the diversity and the building itself, which is very nice. But educationally my kid was not challenged to his full potential.

Arthur D. Healey School 3

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
The Healey School has the most dedicated and active parent populations in the CIty, which has helped the school tremendously despite a lack of consistent leadership over the past 10 years. While many teachers and families have left over the last few years, those who have remained are a tight-knit community.


Arthur D. Healey School 4

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
The Healey School is a diverse urban school that values the arts, community involvement, and off-site learning. Grades 4-8 participate in offsite, overnight learning, including Nature's Classroom and educational experiences in New York CIty and Washington, D.C.

Arthur D. Healey School 4

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
I am very excited about the core values that the school is updating the curriculum to embody: expecting excellence from oneself, reading comprehension, arts integrated into learning, thematic project based learning, and service projects. As a community, we want our children to be prepared to be good citizens and leaders in today's world. There is a lot available on the school website which is very transparent the curricular and learning environment goals. The unification process to combine different "schools within a school" into an integrated Healey has been exciting and productive opportunity for teachers, administration, students and parents voices to be heard. I think this school is poised to become a real star in our community.

Arthur D. Healey School 3

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
Parents of the Choice program are very active at this school. They have created a website for it at: http://www.thechoiceprogram.org


Arthur D. Healey School 2

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Arthur D. Healey School 0
no rating

Posted January 04, 2008
- a community member
I visited the afterschool programs with Groundworks Somerville and saw the Healey students excited to paint, draw, play basketball, do homework and socialize in a huge bright cafeteria. Very nice group of youth, diverse, smart and quick. The wall mural was designed by the youth and features countrys produce and portraits

Arthur D. Healey School 5

Posted June 18, 2006
- a parent
The Healey School is such a wonderful place for children to learn and enjoy the school experience. I especially love the Choice program which promotes hands on learning and high parent involvment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arthur D. Healey School
5 Meacham St, Somerville, MA  02145
(617) 625-6600
Last modified Arthur D. Healey School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arthur D. Healey School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top