Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Hadley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 655 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

There is a lot of bullying going on and it's hard for students to handle it because the school chooses to ignore the issue
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

The school has issues which are recently being brought to light which the administration and faculty has long ignored. Before enrolling your children here, you have to ask the question why it took them so long to enact anti-bullying legislation? It's a reactive environment at SHHS, not a proactive one, you make the decision, you accept the risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

My children have had a great experience at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

I'm a student here at South Hadley High School and personally I find that it is not as bad as most people say it is. Really.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

I have to agree with the negative reviews. SHHS has a terrible principal with no leadership qualities. The school is dull and according to my student, the kids get away with murder. I have two children in the middle school now and refuse to send them to the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Terrible!! No sense of community!! No diversity!! Clique-elitist behavior extending into the elderly community. Secular/Insular Community. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I'm a parent of a current student and I am deeply upset by some of the comments made. There isn't absolutely nothing wrong with SHHS's diversity, we have numerous clubs and after school activities fit for every personality out there. the academic programs give the students many opportunities to challenge themselves, whether they decide to or not is up to their discretion.The music program is great and the directors of the program do an excellant job.It's a nice little community and nothing is ever perfect, we should all just accept that now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

I have also been in South Hadley Schools my whole life. I don't know where some of these people are getting there information from. South Hadley High is a great school. Although are school is small I feel we are well equiped. We have a huge choice of class's to take, we have 2 computer lab and a library with just as many computers. Every single room has a TV, VCR, and computer connected directly to the TV's. The teachers at SHHS are very supportive and understanding. Although some are a bit harsh in their ways they make sure the kids learn what they need to learn. I've yet to have a teacher I have disliked.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2004

I was a student at SHHS (1987-1991) and I agree with Theresa that the school was poorly supported by the town's taxpayers -- especially considering the economic background of the average citizen. However, I believe SHHS did quite well for itself despite that. I felt the teachers, overall, were both caring and knowledgeable. The school also offered a fair amount in addition to 'the 3 Rs' given its size. No, I do not believe we had a class in photography at that time, but we did have one in music theory. We also introduced an A/V program either while I was there or shortly thereafter. I suspect both of those were rare over a decade ago. Then there was the marching band that was and still is a phenomonal group. Almost entirely self-funded, it consistently excels in competitive performances along the east coast -- truly earning the name 'TigerPride.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2004

I was a student at South Hadley Public Schoools my whole life until I moved this year in the middle of thenth grade. I loved South Hadley and I miss it so much. The school was small but very united. They had alot of spririt and these comments about people being spoiled rotten are not true. The students work very hard for everything they do and on average most students here do really well. I loved my friends, I loved the sports and I loved the administration, especially after dealing with another school. I've seen how other schools work and it makes SHHS look all the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2003

South Hadley High School is a terrible place where I wasted 4 years of my life. There is no diversity in the student population and little school pride. Terrible and useless teachers are kept because of school politics while new and interesting teachers are let go. If I were a parent I would not send my child to South Hadley.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female99%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

66%

Average SAT score

1523

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 68%
Hispanic 6% 15%
Asian 2% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

153 Newton St
South Hadley, MA 01075
Phone: (413) 538-5063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Neari School
Holyoke, MA



Valley Christian School
South Hadley, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT