Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank H Freedman

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

A few of the teachers were good and seemed to care about the kids but most seem short tempered and would rather not be there. The PTA was unorganized and were not willing to show any money handling proceedures. I helped out with quite a few school functiouns due to the lack of help elsewhere. glad we moved away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Before you send your child to this school be aware of a few facts first. During mcas minths the staff us told to only teach ela all day, included the lower grades. During the month if math mcas they are directed to only teach math all day. Do your child is not getting any other subjects taught for as month at a time. Not sure how this is following the common core standards. If your child is on an iep then make sure it is being followed! If they are supposed to be in a substantially seperate classroom, the the are not. They closed that room and put all the students in regular ed classes. If they have counseling on their grid then most likely they are not getting it. The counselor is too busy being the "librarian". The school also puts kids on 504 plans without even holding a team meeting with the special education director to see if they qualify. They just do it so that the students can get accomodations in time for mcas. That is all the administration cares about. She is an unsupportive leader that takes pleasure in making her staff feel intimidated.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2013

My child has been in this school for 2 years and is doing well but he had a great foundation. He has has great teachers at this school. Unfortunately the administration is lacking a lot. The PTO is non-existent and there are no checks and balances with the money that is raised, the Principal controls the money and uses her husbands political power in her practice. The front office staff is mediocre, uneducated and disrespectful. Unfortunately in Springfield you are assigned the schools your children go into and unless you pay for private school or are lucky enough to get into a charter school or out of district school, you have no choice where your child is placed. Again I will say that the teachers my child has had have been great and I do maintain contact with them and I am involved in my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I must say beside my son's teacher who can be difficult at time as well but nothing compared to the rest of the staff. The staff at Freedman school are absolutely inappropiate, disrespecful, worst attitude ever, starting with the principal she is very rude and intimidating. If the principal who's supposed to be the role model for the kids and the rest of the staff in school is so unprofessional and rude, what can you expect about the rest of the staff? As soon as you walk into the office the receptionist is looking at you with such an attitute and it get worst when you ask questions, then follow by the principal. I really feel terrible everytime I have to drop off my child to this school, he is so intimidated, and beg me every morning not to leaving there. The school department needs to start looking into this matter soon before it get any worse. It's not about the quality of education, this is about first impression, discrimination perhaps, and just the level of professionalism is so poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

The staff members at Frank Freedman school are one of, if not the best grade schools in the city. The cirriculum is challenging and fun for the children. They are learning at a higher level than other children their age. The teachers instill selfworth in the children so they feel good about themsevles and their learning. This makes them want to go to school. Putting your child in this school would diffinately be a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

This was my son's first year in this school, and the office staff makes me sick!!! They are rude and disrespectful.... I don't like the principal at all and she missed our meeting that she set up! There are some really good teacher and others should not of been! I am trying to get him out but I am not having any luck! Please let me know how I can get him out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

I DONT LIKE THIS SCHOOL AT ALL I DONT RECOMENDET TO ANYONE MY KID WAS AT THIS SCHOOL IN KINDERGARDEN N THE TEACHER WAS NOT FAIR WITH HIM SHE REALLY WANTED HIM OUT SHE WASENT HELPING HIM AT ALL N THE PRICIPAL WORST NO THIS SCHOOL FOR ME GET NOTHING AT ALL NO START NO EVEN ONE AND LET ME TELL YOU WERE MY KID GOES NOW HE IS DOING GREAT AND HE IS EXELENT IN SCHOOL BUT NOT THANKS TO ANY OF YOU IN THAT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My daughter started going to this school she's in first and the office people are terrible they got bad attitudes and i am going to have to say when we lived in holyoke ma the school was way better than springfield they get homework and all that good stuff for them to learn and now she's in freedman she hardly gets homework and when her report card comes in they state she dont return 'helloooooooo she never even gets it' and you cant even talk with her teachers let alone the principal...i think we should of stayed in holyoke schools!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My daughter went to this school. I have to say that the teachers are second to none. They are without a doubt the best of the best. Unfortunatly the administration is sorely lacking. The children who do not want to learn and only disrupt the school are allowed to do as they please with little consiquences. This lack of action on the administrations part surely hinders the teachers from running their classrooms and the children who are there for an education loose when teachers are forced to constantly deal with disruptive children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I have a son that goes to this school and he loves it i am moveing and i dont want to switch his school i love the school it has made my son in to a whole new child yes the rules are strick but now a days that is what you need for the children yes i will tell people that freedman is not only a good school but a fantastic school my som went from d's and f's to a's and b's illove the scool it is great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

my rate for this school is not recommended i have my daughter here and the principal doenst respect the parents. she makes her own rules
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Nestled in a suburban setting. This school had a community feel and a balance between teacher excitement, and pupil's passion for learning! Thank You.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
13%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
18%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
8%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female39%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female61%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female48%
Male67%
African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students29%
Female13%
Male50%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Female79%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female43%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students43%
Female39%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 16%
Black 20% 8%
White 18% 67%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (413) 750-2367

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

90 Cherokee Dr
Springfield, MA 01109
Phone: (413) 787-7443

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Arthur T Talmadge
Springfield, MA


Dryden Memorial
Springfield, MA


Frederick Harris
Springfield, MA


St Michaels Academy
Springfield, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT