Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springfield Central High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

I graduated in the year 1993. I'll never forget my teachers I had. They were excellent. I have memories to last a lifetime and keep dear to my heart. Going to Central was the best decision I ever made. Academically, I was encouraged to work to my full potential. It was Central and their dedicated teaching staff that taught me not to settle for the easy way out but to really challenge myself. For that I'm forever grateful!! We were" Daring To Be Different "


Posted November 2, 2013

This school is overcrowded and pushes student to complete AP course work that they are not prepared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

I love it at Central. The teachers are great to talk to. The classes are very diverse and there are plenty of AP courses I can choose from. The sports program is also very excellent and we pride over our academics as well as sports. It's a very good environment and I'm very happy here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2010

i think Central is an amazing school and a great role model school for all the school's in Springfield, MA...you have to see it to believe it really!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

everyone is like family and it is serious about giving us a good education and a good highschool experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

My daughter is graduating from this school this year. She has a 4.6 GPA , has excelled here, and has had opportunities to take advanced classes that she would not have had in a smaller town high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

My children attend/ed Springfield Central High school . I have to say there high school years were wonderful and most rewarding. The teachers and staff they worked with always had a positive influence . I am very proud to say my children excelled
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

I was a former student at Cental High, c/o 2003. Central is a great school. I had a great experience there. The teachers are great, and the principals also. The teachers will do anything in their power to help their students succeed in their classes. Also, the principals have a lot of control on their students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2004

I graduated from this high school in 1988,at that time it was the best there is. I have had several relatives to graduate this school and feel the same way. I now have a child of my own attending. Overall this school is excellent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2003

I attended this HS the first year it opened and I think that the cirriculm was first rate. There were many opportunites for participation in many areas of education and extracurricular activities. Thank you.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female88%
Male75%
African American80%
Asian83%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial85%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I81%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learners33%

Math

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
African American49%
Asian81%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial70%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title I59%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners16%

Science

All Students40%
Female40%
Male40%
African American34%
Asian63%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial55%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners10%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
43%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
28%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students15%
Female27%
Male7%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I15%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Students36%
Female38%
Male34%
African American34%
Asian50%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial45%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners7%

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

49%

Average SAT score

1289

Graduation rate

75%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 16%
Black 25% 8%
White 18% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (413) 787-7040

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1840 Roosevelt Ave
Springfield, MA 01109
Phone: (413) 787-7085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


High School/Science-Tech
Springfield, MA



Valley West School
Chicopee, MA


Cathedral High School
Springfield, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT