Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral High School

Private | 9-12 | 345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2012

Both of my children were educated at Cathedral. I have only good things to say about the school. Not only were the teachers great, but they were also caring of the students. The friends my children made were amazing, well behaved, and had parents that kept track of them and their behavior both in and out of school. One of my children is in college and the other is in medical school. I believe that Cathedral gave them a great start on their adult lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

As an alum and current parent, there are good and bad that I can say about Cathedral. There is ample opportunity for motivated students, numerous good and challenging teachers, and some great honors courses. Learning is the priority and all students seem to acknowledge and support that philosophy. We've been told that a big transformation is coming with an application for the International Baccalaureate format to begin in 2012-2013. In order for that to happen, two major changes must be made. There are long-time teachers who are, plainly put, awful and are recognized by guidance and administrators as such. Some recent hires seem to be only because of their connections within the Catholic community, rather than solid skills. The guidance dept is deplorable, so don't count on them to guide your children toward their future. Culturally, there isn't enough diversity, which is problematic. The school is working to eliminate old ideas and stereotypes. The tornado destroyed the old school, so they are in a temporary location that is not ideal. With any luck, a new and better facility will be built by 2013-2014... and the school can begin again, new and improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

This school is head-and-shoulders over practically all public options at an affordable price. Academic rigor in an involved community is the standard with teachers, administrations and parents all invited and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Cathedral High School is no doubt one of the best, if not the best, educational insitution in the Springfield area. While the school may complain about the dwinling number of students in recent years (less students means less money which also means higher tuitions), the classes are small and in certain classes, you feel like you are actually in the room. However, after attending private schools all of my life (all, except Cathedral, are not Catholic), I find myself struggling with the religion and the approach adminstrators take in the school. I often have to deal with ever-changing rules and teachers who too often are graduates of the school, not 'outsiders' which can provide valuable teaching experiences for the school. All in all, Cathedral is not the best school that I've been, but unfortunately, it's the better school in Springfield.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

Cathedral High school is one of the premiere educational institutions in MA. As a former student and current law student, I can attest to the quality education that the school provides. I am proud to be a Cathedral graduate and formed lasting bonds in my four years on Surrey Road that will not soon be forgotten. I recommend Cathedral High School to any student that searches for a quality education in an environment that promotes Christian values... there is truly no better place in Western, MA to get a college preparatory education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

This school put's far to much emphasis on it's title and less on an eduction. It's level of education has lowered in recent years. The resulting education, both in academics and self-growth, that the students receive is no better than any of it's neighbouring schools. Parents who send their children to cathedral, by paying, are providing their children perhaps opportunities afterwards, but with most graduates staying withing the region anyways, these benifits are miniscule if at all relevant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

Cathedral High School is a typical example of how a school can make the most of its resources. My daughter who is currently at Princeton, graduated from Cathedral and was admitted to ALL the five Ivy league schools she applied to, a testament to the strength of the educational and extra curricular program provided at the school, with limited resources. I currently have a son there and he has the opportunity to take challenging courses right from his freshman year, and loves the school so far. The students are trained to be good citizens through early active involvement in community activities such as serving at local Food Pantries etc, and even international social activities such their annual trip to deprived areas in Mexico to help with building and planting. The staff at Cathedral are wonderful, starting from the first person you run into when go to the school - Ms Kakley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

While it may be expensive to attend Cathedral High School, I feel that it is definitely worth it. Our children are our future so why not invest your money into them? Cathedral does have a few incompetent teachers but what school doesn't? Generally, all of the Honors and AP classes are taught by qualified and capable teachers so if you child is gifted or extremely committed to learning it would be best to place them into these rigorous programs. The current dean of students isn't as harsh as everyone says she is. Most people that dislike her are the ones that are always getting into mischief. Cathedral is an excellent school and I would strongly recommend it to any individual.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2007

Although once a fine educational institution, Cathedral is no longer an excellent school. Many of the teachers hired in the past two years are incompetent; arbitrary and capricious rules have been added to the handbook, and the school was so underinsured that full repairs have not been made (and may NEVER be made) in the boy's athletic locker room. As a parent, I regret having wasted so much of my child's high school career at an institution that offers so little in the way of extracurricular activities, an extremely poor music program, and a laughable art program. Parents: be prepared to spend time at the school fighting with the dean of students, incompetent guidance counselors, and clueless administrators. I urge you to talk to current parents and give less weight to opinions that deal with how the school was five or ten years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

With membership dwindling, the enrollment fee is ever increasing. There are a few teachers who care, but as the school scrambles to fill positions, they catch a few that are incompetent. There are very many extracurricular activities, but t your child's schedule is very likely to be filled with classes that are a Graduation Requirement. Over all it's a good school, but may not be worth the money you have to fork over after enrollment, books, uniforms, and lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

I was a student at Cathedral, class of 2000. All I can say is that it was amazing in preparing me for life at Mount Holyoke College, which was very competitive. Teachers like Ms. Krupa and Mrs. Moriarty really helped prepare me for the shock of the 'real world.' Now I am in my first year of professional school, trying to be the best veterinarian that I can become. And I know that things would have been different if I had chosen another path for my secondary education. Not only did I enjoy my time at Cathedral, but I've also met my very best friends there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2004

I just graduated from Cathedral in June and I am so happy that I did! The teachers at Cathedral not only prepared me for college, but they were also friends to myself and many of the other students. Cathedral is full of friendly teachers and staff who will do anything to help a student in completing their high school education. I have a brother at a public school in Springfield, and I see such a difference between the two. Cathedral is by far one of the best high schools in our area!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2004

This school is wonderful! Presently, I am a freshman there, and I'm very proud of it! Over this first year, the teachers and the rest of the staff have been overwhelmingly welcoming. I've never arrived to such an atmosphere where people were like this. I feel great that I chose this school and not another one!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2004

Cathedral is an exceptional high school. Many opportunities await students, including a large offering of honors and AP classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2003

This is an exemplary high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 6% 8%
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Holy Cross Parish Elementary School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Gaelic
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Gaelic
  • German
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 2:30pm
School Leader's name
  • John F. Miller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (413) 782-5065

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Gaelic
  • German
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Springfield
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice Hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Ice Hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parent support group and volunteer opportunities to support athletics, music program and drama club parent fundraising for athletics
More from this school
  • Cathedral offers a small, individually focused rigorous academic program in a safe and secure environment. Class sizes average 20 students, although many advanced classes have ten or fewer students. Cathedral has recently developed a Forensic Science curriculum.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Holy Cross Parish Elementary School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

260 Surrey Road
Springfield, MA 01118
Website: Click here
Phone: (413) 782-5285

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

High School/Science-Tech
Springfield, MA




High School Of Commerce
Springfield, MA



Mill Pond School
Springfield, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT