Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of the Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Springfield

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $81,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2007

I am so pleased with OLSH. I believe that Ms. Dougal had a hard job to do when she came into this school and I know that she is getting the job done. We have lost some 'OldTimers' in the teaching staff, however these young teachers coming in are very cutting edge with how they teach academics. I highly reccommend to anyone consdering Catholic Education, to come and look at OLSH, you won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I have 4 children who attend OLSH and I am so disappointed with the way the school has changed for the worse over the past 2 years.The lack of communication and interest from the principal is discouraging.I have a son who left OLSH for Cathedral last year and was not all prepared for what H.S. was going to be like.We lost some wonderful teachers and the OLSH family has'nt been the same.I can only hope next year will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

I have 2 children that attend OLSH and I am very happy with school. The principal has a staff of teachers that are committed to teaching and challaning the students. I am greatful that when my son leaves the school for high school he will be not only academically prepared for high school, but will have the caring and compassion that the teachers and staff strive for in all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

My child is in his second year at OLSH and I could not be happier. I disagree with the last review- I think the new principal has excellent skills and has much experience so that she was not willing to settle for 'this is how we always did it'. Those teachers/staff that left were the ones not willing to get on board and move forward. The attitude I have seen so far this year has been great among staff and parents. There is a new and very invloved parent organization that has all sorts of great things planned. My child has had two excellent teachers so far. Any transition to a new leader takes time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

I am very upset for the turn for the worse olsh has made. When my daughter first attended olsh I was very happy, but since the the new principal has taken over there are no leadership and I do not pay for my daughter to be in school for this to happen. I was shocked to see more teachers have left the school and how many students there was today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

OLSH is a wonderful Parish supported school that has many dedicated teachers, parents, and other supporters. They continue to provide good catholic education to our children. There have been many changes in the Parish and the school over the past several months, some good, some not so good. But as with everything in life, we have changes. All things take time to work out. As St. Francis taught us: ' God grant me the serentity to accept the things I can not change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.' The principal has been less supportive of the older grades than our past principal. The curriculum for the 'middle school' changed drastically and we lost a few good teachers. But all things will work out as they have in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

My child attends O.L.S.H.. I belive the school has made a turn for the worst. The new principal shows no leadership and is making the children and staff (from my viewpoint) miserable!! Half the staff has quit and there is no sense of unity in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

I'm sorry but I think that school needs to brushen up. Teachers speaking bad language is not what I want my children to grow up with. Something should be done about the prinipal. I don't think he tries to change the school for the better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 5, 2004

In my early years of education I attended O.L.S.H. The values that I learned in my first five years have helped me take on challenges that I would never have been able to do if I had not had the foundation of my education at O.L.S.H. Along with educational values you receive religious background and morals that help you in society. The staff is always involved in what is going on in the community and with the students. The students from O.L.S.H have a chance to attend more completive privet high schools such as Cathedral. O.L.S.H helps mold children in the years that are most important for their growth and development- it is truly a role model for other Catholic Education programs.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 Rosewell St
Springfield, MA 01109
Phone: (413) 782-8021

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thomas M Balliet
Springfield, MA


Hiram L Dorman
Springfield, MA


Mary M Lynch
Springfield, MA




Frank H Freedman
Springfield, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT