Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Van Sickle Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
Kids have no respect for each other or teachers. Poor class control. Teachers have bribed the kids to watch their you tube rap videos in exchange for good grades, pretty outrageous! And swearing at student is unacceptable- both my boys have witnessed cussing teachers.

Van Sickle Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
not so fair- my child is an honors student for which they do a "breakfast". More options need to be provided and an actual breakfast! Juice and a fruit is no different from what they get in the cafeteria. The school should really go all out for these kids- its not easy to remain honoirs in the worst school in the district!! they can do so much better!


Van Sickle Middle School 2

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
My child has been in VSMS since 6th grade, now an 8th grader. I'm honestly less than impressed with the school. Staff has little to no control in their classrooms, and my child talks about fights among students daily, and constant disruption in class due to poor class control. I have had several incidents for which I have called the counselors to no avail. My child was bullied by a 16 year old in the 7th grade, a meeting was never set up. My other son was assaulted by the same kid and i was never contacted about this, but the child was expelled due to this being repeat behavior. After a while they didnt even return calls. Glad the old principal is gone- she was useless!! I hope Mrs. Davis Roman can make a difference- at least she makes time to call back and address parent concerns. Kudos Mrs. Roman

Van Sickle Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Roman Davis- the ONLY person who has ever returned a phone call- not sure what Ms. Jacopraro gets paid to do- I have left several messages and have yet tohear back from her- had to threaten to escalate to Superintendent to get a response.

Van Sickle Middle School 3

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
Could be better teachers get mad when you ask questions about grades etc. principal despite is very disrespectful to parents she doesn't like


Van Sickle Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
They are level four school. Also they do absolutely nothing about bullying. Teachers favor black and puertrician students over white kids.

Van Sickle Middle School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Administration does not help with bullying. Mr Levins is of no help. Fortunately we have completed our years at Van Sickle. Visit your child's classroom. Be involved.

Van Sickle Middle School 4

Posted March 30, 2011
- a community member
i was a student at vansickle middle school i loved all the teachers at that school there all so great i miss the schoo l alot i go to John F kennedy school.I MISS VANSICKLE!


Van Sickle Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
I transferred my daughter from renaissance school to Van Sickle Middle School she was failing at Renaissance school due to distractions in the class room and teachers not doing their jobs or caring and controlling the classroom kids. I switched here to VSMS and she is currently in honors getting good grades all i can say is Van Sickle middle Schhol is one of the bestr in the District. Barbara

Van Sickle Middle School 4

Posted April 19, 2010
- a student
I am a student here at van sickle and i think its great here!im in band and i play clarinet!thx for all the comments!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Van Sickle Middle School
1170 Carew Street, Springfield, MA  01104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (413) 750-2887
Last modified Van Sickle Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top