Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Springfield Renaissance School 5

Posted December 21, 2010
- a community member
I am a student at Renaissance school. I just stepped into this school as a 6th grader. Ms.Wood, Mr.Scanlan-Emigh, Mrs.Huttlinger, Ms.Adel, and all the others that I know are awesome teachers that give us the strictness and education that us students need. "Our school s mission is to provide a rigorous academic program for college-bound students in a small, personalized setting that impels and supports students to use their minds well, to care for themselves and others, and to rise to the challenges and duties of citizenship." This is our mission that we students learn, love, and always care about.My proud name at Renaissance is QUYEN NGUYEN

The Springfield Renaissance School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
I am a student at the Renaissance School and I love it. It is a very challenging and rigorous school with excellent teachers and a charismatic principal. it is by far the best school in Springfield


The Springfield Renaissance School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a parent
The post written Dec 5, 2008 is pathetic and I highly doubt that it was written by a parent. Unfortunately, their poor rating is bring down the total score of an exceptional school. The teachers are phenomenal and the curriculum is well structured and challenging. The teachers really care and push the students to excel. Most classes are challenging in structure because they concentrate on college prep level curriculum and some classes are taught at a higher level than what other public schools in Springfield are being taught. The 'parent' who wrote the review previously mentioned clearly does not know a thing about this school. My daughter is in her third year there and I am constantly amazed at the level of commitment the teachers have in an age where Springfield schools are shedding qualified teachers at a terrifying rate.

The Springfield Renaissance School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This school is great! The teachers are awesome and actually care about us. They're really committed to getting us all into college, and a lot of them are really inspiring.

The Springfield Renaissance School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a student
This school is very diffrent from other schools that are in our area. We teach on the core principles of actually learning the information over just grazing over subject matter. The teachers are great in terms of advising and understanding. They want the students to learn. On any given day some teachers work until seven getting done. I know that this dedication.


The Springfield Renaissance School 4

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
As a founding student of The Springfield Renaissance School and a member School Governing Board (student rep.) I can tell you that Renaissance is by far the best school in Springfield. Started in 2006 on a grant from the BIll and Milenda Gates foundation and Expeditionary Learning School Renaissance is a 6-12 college bound EL public school. The school opened its door to the 6th and 9th graders and has grown since to 6-11 and next years will be graduating its first class. Renaissance focuses on each student as an individual and has kept that promise even when it has grown to 600 students. Each grade has an expedition for each trimester that benefits the greater springfield and national community. The teachers are the most dedicated you will find, each is of the best quality having undergone extensive EL training. If you are moving to Springfield Renaissance should your #1 choice.

The Springfield Renaissance School 4

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
Having been at Renaissance since its founding, i know it very well and find it to be an excellent school, for educational purposes and for the fact that our school shares a real community and we care about eachother. We have many things that can't be found anywhere else in Springfield, like our ninth grade outward bound trips and small, personalized crews.

The Springfield Renaissance School
no rating

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
I would give the Springfield Renaissance School an 8.5 on all counts. This innovative school focuses on each student's individual learning style and encourages students to work in a manner that emphasizes their strengths. The interdisciplinary approach to education is quite refreshing and the teachers are truly dedicated and caring.


The Springfield Renaissance School 1

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
renaissance is a very poor school the teachers are too nice and has no discipline at all the students are all untrustworthy and folowers but one thing i can say is they share a pretty nice building w/VSMS renaissance is a low accedemic school and expects too little from you from,a worried parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Springfield Renaissance School
1170 Carew Street, Springfield, MA  01104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (413) 750-2929
Last modified The Springfield Renaissance School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top