Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 5-8 & Ungraded
Public
Swampscott, MA
Students enrolled: 750

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Swampscott Middle School 1

Posted August 21, 2014
- a teacher
Has a terrible support system for students with IEPs. The head of the department Mona Blumstien once said in court "there is no purpose to an IEP". If your child has a learning disparity or a language base on don't send your child here. Try landmark or move to another town.

Swampscott Middle School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
The school is very helpful with kids to be in the right classes and get the right help when they need it. The teachers there help the kids all they can it just wonderful. The school could improve by letting their student view and learn new things outside of the schoolhouse and get the students to have another perspective on things


Swampscott Middle School 5

Posted February 26, 2013
- a community member
Ok people, Mr. Watson may have not been the best principal, but With the new principal and vice principal the school is functioning better than ever. If your child is failing they need to approach the teacher themselves, they cant expect to have their parents do everything for them until they are 18. Overall I think Swampscott middle school is more then great. THe teachers are nice, and they will help you after school if you ask. All in all I think Swampscott schools are excellent.

Swampscott Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2009
- a community member
the SMS is an amazing school. now moved on to high school, i find myself pining to return to the middle school to visit teachers and be welcomed back into the caring environment. all of the teachers care and cherish their students as well as educate them to their fullest potential. i believe that evey teacher there wants each and every student to succed, and helps them develop as a person, not only as a student. thanks for the memories SMS, they are everlasting. miss all my teachers that made a huge impact on my life. am,cp,ar,kr,id,br,tb,gk,mc...and many more thank you._class of '07

Swampscott Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
my daughter seems to like the middle school. she is on an IEP plan and really gets the support she needs. she is now an high honors student thanks to all the wonderful support. we are very happy to have mrs. rostoff to help my daughter and other children that need the support!


Swampscott Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
I THINK THE SWAMPSCOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL IS JUST OKAY. SOME OF THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT AND OTHERS ARE OKAY. I THINK ITS VERY IMPORTANT THAT EACH AND EVERY CHILD FEELS SPECIAL. I THINK THEY NEED TO DO MORE ABOUT THE BULLYING IN THE SCHOOL. THAT SHOULD NEVER BE ALOUD AND SHOULD BE TAKING SERIOUSLY.

Swampscott Middle School 1

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
Although I was pleased with the school when we first attended, I was quickly disappointed in the school staff. Their principal Mr. Watson is not qualified and is more than rude to the parents. The assistant principal Ms. Bonomolo and the guidance counselor Ms. Chennery are useless when your child needs help. This is not a great place if you want your child to get an education. We hired a math tutor in order to undo the damage this school did to our child's math skills. Well at least he is in a better school now and should have better prospects in the future.

Swampscott Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Swampscott Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a student
It was really great. The teachers were amazing and taught well. The school is organized and well disaplined

Swampscott Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
I think that the principal, Mr. Ralph Watson, should actually contact parents when they call. Maybe he could also be more involved with the kids. The teachers, however are wonderful. The school is quite safe, but not because of the principal. It is safe simply because it is the town of Swampscott, with very little crime rate. The assistant principal, Mrs. Lay, unlike Mr. Watson, is wonderful, and I find that she interacts well with the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swampscott Middle School
207 Forrest Ave, Swampscott, MA  01907
(781) 596-8820
Last modified Swampscott Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Swampscott Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top