Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hopewell

Public | K-4 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2010

My son is 7 years old and loves this school. He also does very well academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

This is by far one of the best schools in not only the state of Massachusetts but the nation.When I first moved to Taunton, i was a little iffy about sending my son to a city public school...My son has been in this school for 2 years, and its a remarkable school..I can not wait to send my other 2 children.The principal of this school is a very generous,caring,loyalty,and giving guy..He would do anything to help the student better their education..He has gone out of his way twice to help me with 2 situations with my son...Even before and after schools hours he will always be there to help you..He is a very understanding guy...The staff is wonderful too..Both my sons teachers did and are doing a wonderful job with him...I can not say enough good things about this school...Mr.Quigley made this school, into what it is today...A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Hopewell is a excellent school. My son has been going to Hopewell for 3 years now and is entering into 3rd grade this year. He has had some learning difficulties and is currently on a IEP. The school has gone above and beyond to assist me with his plan. My daughter will be entering into kindergarden this year, and she is looking forward to it and I know that she will be recieving the best education.:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I volunteered at the schools and found it to be a great facility. Te teachers were very involved and the principal made it a point to make multiple visits to every individual classroom weekly to speak to the students and help them to set goals. Looking at the latest MCAS scores, the goals are being beyond reached. The playground is an issue, but all in all, the staff is great and prepares the kids for middle school and beyond to the fullest


Posted June 17, 2008

I am a parent of 2 children that have or are attending this school. I could not say enough positive things about the principal and staff at Hopewell. The principal might seem non approachable but he is actually the most caring person. He goes above and beyond to make sure the kids at hopewell are safe and makes sure they are getting the best education. He sends home a monthly newsletter to inform parents of anything that needs to be addressed or to just let us know what events are coming up at the school. Overall, I could not ask for a better elementary school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Hopwell is a great school except for the principal. He is not personable and not good with the kids or parents. If hopewell got a new pricipal it would be above excellent. Overall it is a great school though. The teachers are great. I have never had a bad experience with anyone there but the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

The Hopewell school could improve in a few areas. First being the way the principal handles himself while being addressed by parents with their issues and concerns, instead of becoming part of the solution he becomes part of the problem. However, my daughters teacher is excellent and she is learning a lot in her classroom. I would also love to see the Hopewell get some playground equipment instead of students out playing on a blacktop. With just a few improvements like the ones I have written about and perhaps a more personable office staff, the Hopewell could be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

I love the teachers at Hopewell. I think they are firm, but fair. The principal really cares about the children. He does not keep parents well informed. If Hopewell had a different principal I would think it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I believe Hopewell is a good school however it needs to improve on a few things. It has no playground for the children. My daughter has to go here for five years and will not have anything to play on. My daughter dislikes recess for that reason. I also believe the principal needs to be more personable. I feel when I see him he always seems to be talking down to you. They also need to have more activities for the children. If they could just work on these few things it would make hopewell the best school in taunton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

I think Hopewell has a few things to work on. I have two children that attend and they are thriving academically. There is no playground equipment for the children to play on at all. All in all I think the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Acedemic programs are minimal, with no effort to provide additional programs for advanced students. Child came home with lice and no notification was sent home that this could be/was a concern or that others had it. Playground/activity areas do not exist. Recess/play are vital to full development of mind and body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

Hopewell is a great school. The staff and teachers make every effort to help students and parents succeed. I would like to see improvements to school itself and the play area outside. The educational success of a child depends on the partnership between parent and teacher, Hopewell really fosters this relationship.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female67%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female89%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Female51%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title I40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students41%
Female44%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title I41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 67%
Hispanic 12% 16%
Black 7% 8%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 821-1356

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16 Monroe St
Taunton, MA 02780
Phone: (508) 821-1240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Southeast Area
Taunton, MA



H H Galligan
Taunton, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT