Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's Primary School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Taunton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

St Mary's is a great school. The teachers are passionate about teachinga nd take the extra time to help students achieve their potential. It is a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

My son had been a St. Mary's from pre-k - 4th. I liked the small class sizes and the whole concept of a private school . Over the years I felt the teachers were burnt out and the curriculum and books out of date and teaching methods boring for my son. Also, the lack of extra curriculum offered is another reason we switched schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

My wife and I enrolled our 5 year old son into Kindergarten at Saint Mary's Primary School this year. We have the misfortune to live in a town with a substandard school system (Middleboro). We have been happy with the level of education at Saint Mary's Primary School and the tuition is at a reasonable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

The staff at St Mary's Primary School are dedicated to teaching and enriching the learning experience to its students. They have high academic standards, sound values and teach with dignity and respect. The students learn confidence by being in a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

St. Mary's promises alot but does not always deliver. Too many rigid,out of touch teachers and not many activities for the children compared to other Catholic schools.They also seem to be falling behind Taunton public school in mathmatics & science as well. Looks like their best days are behind them from what I see now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Really great community of families dedicated to enriching their students life by encouraging a love for learning and fostering Catholic philosophy which is integratred into all aspects of the school. My two graduates of the school have continued to grow and excel in their educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

I am a recent graduate of St. Mary's and I feel they have prepared me well for the future years that lay ahead. I enjoyed the teachers and all the activties and clubs and I have made lasting friendships and hold fond memories of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2004

St. Mary's school and it's supporting community is a practically perfect place to raise educated, compansionate, respectful young people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

St. Mary's has a lot to offer. I am a graduate of the school and a parent of current students. The art, music, and computer facilities are state of the art and the Chapel is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Fall River
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

106 Washington Street
Taunton, MA 02780
Phone: (508) 822-9480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southeast Area
Taunton, MA



H H Galligan
Taunton, MA


Hopewell
Taunton, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT