Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Taunton, MA
Students enrolled: 266
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mary's Primary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
There are several teachers at this school who meant a great deal to my children, who helped them and were there for them, but that is not the case for all the teachers. More than half the teachers were just let go, including their best teachers.

St Mary's Primary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
The children in K, 1st and 2nd barely get any homework. It slows down their progress to learn how to read, math, etc. They go from having barely any homework to being overloaded with homework in 3rd grade, which is mostly religious homework.


St Mary's Primary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
No, there is absolutely nothing challenging at this school. It has a very basic curriculum. You either pass it or you don't. They don't challenge the students or give them a reason to want to try for more.

St Mary's Primary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
No, my children were ignored quite a bit. One of my children is extremely bright and would finish his work very early, usually within minutes of receiving an assignment and instead of assigning my child more work, work to challenge them, my child was told to put his head down and wait for the rest of the children to catch up. He was forced to do this several times a day, every single day until the point that he hated the school. They don't even attempt to challenge the students who excel. Constantly begin told to put your head down and ignored guaranteed that my children did not respect the staff, the other students or even themselves.

St Mary's Primary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
No, the school doesn't seem to go that extra mile to ensure that the children are in a bully-free school system and the for the children that don't quite fit it, they get ignored and left out by the student body and staff.


St Mary's Primary School 2

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
We enrolled our children in this school several years ago, expecting a better quality of education, values taught, respect, disciplined upheld and that they were getting an advantage by attending a private school. Unfortunately that was not the case as we're discovering now. The education at St. Mary's is very far behind the public school system. While the children at St. Mary's are learning basic arithmetic, cursive, religion and a touch of science and social studies, the children that attend the public school system are learning geometry, algebra, earth science, chemistry, government, social studies, etc. The education at St. Mary's is severely lacking. The same could be said for the entire catholic school system in Taunton. We've had to hire a tutor to work with our children to catch them up with the public school system now that we've switched schools. It has made a huge difference. The major problem with St. Mary's is there is no consistency, no follow through, no real educational goals, or discipline. There are also no after school programs unless the parents volunteer to do them and when they do, the faculty do not back them up or help them with the programs. The school used to have after school programs, but they shut them down in favor of the aftercare program to bring in money. The only positive about this school is its staff. There are several teachers there that go above and beyond to help out the children that need it. The nurse does more to help parents and children than the principal and is more involved with the making sure things run smoothly. The secretary staff is great group of hardworking women, who are doing the best with what they have. The catholic school system in Taunton is failing and cannot compare to the public school system, which is frightening considering the amount of tuition. The high school credits are not equivalent to the public school and the one thing that they fail to tell you is this, because of the very limited education at the Catholic schools, which is even more limited now that they fired more than half the teachers, the students no longer have an advantages and are less likely to get their college of choice or earn scholarships. The public school system is surprisingly good, but only if you work with your child so that they get everything they can out of it.

St Mary's Primary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
No, I would say that the school is more focused on keeping children enrolled even after they become problematic just so that they don't lose the tuition that the problem children bring in. There are several well-known bullies at this school and the faculty tend to look the other way or settle for meetings with parents that never resolve the problem. There is absolutely no discipline at this school, they don't back up their own rules and look at dealing with the children that are causing the most problems as a hassle. I've witnessed children hitting each other, shoving, bullying and it was always met an annoyed look and a simple request to stop it. There is absolutely no follow through at this school with anything. They have a habit of appeasing the problematic children just to get them to stop, but it never works. Quite a few parents have had it with their children getting picked on and bullied, the issues have been brought up, but the faculty does not seem to care. Many of us are pulling our children out because of this.

St Mary's Primary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
St Mary's is a great school. The teachers are passionate about teachinga nd take the extra time to help students achieve their potential. It is a great school!!


St Mary's Primary School 3

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
My son had been a St. Mary's from pre-k - 4th. I liked the small class sizes and the whole concept of a private school . Over the years I felt the teachers were burnt out and the curriculum and books out of date and teaching methods boring for my son. Also, the lack of extra curriculum offered is another reason we switched schools.

St Mary's Primary School 4

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
My wife and I enrolled our 5 year old son into Kindergarten at Saint Mary's Primary School this year. We have the misfortune to live in a town with a substandard school system (Middleboro). We have been happy with the level of education at Saint Mary's Primary School and the tuition is at a reasonable price.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary's Primary School
106 Washington Street, Taunton, MA  02780
(508) 822-9480
Last modified St Mary's Primary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
St Mary's Primary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top