Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tewksbury Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

This school is awful. As a graduate, I barely slipped by for four years because my teachers focused on nothing but the smarter kids. Even when I asked for extra help, usually in math before a big test, they'd always cancel or postpone it, and in turn I'd do bad on the test. The guidance counselors were friendly and helpful to me and always willing to talk, but I'm sure things have changed since 2007. At the time, there were threats made every couple of months and dozens of fights every week, anywhere from small shouting to actual fists flying. I was not prepared for college after graduation, and I withdrew from my courses after a week because I was too overwhelmed. And now the town thinks that by building a new school, it'll mask the 35:1 teacher to student ratio, or the fact that the books are outdated and the teachers only care about gifted students. But in reality, the new school will just look nice and the education from TMHS won't change. And if you want your child to play a sport, I suggest they choose wisely because the whole athletic side of TMHS is a hierarchy with the students. Go to the Tech and get a real education for your kids, you'll thank me later.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2013

Not every teacher, student, or principal is perfect, but TMHS does a good job at challenging everyone. The various clubs and sports provided gives everyone the opportunity to do something of their interest. This high school is truly underestimated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2012

As a former student I have to agree that the students who are not doing well are left for dead. Oh they'll let you know you're not going to make it to the next year but they don't do much to try to help. There is very little intervention. In fact, I intervened myself and asked my mom to work with the school to find out if I had a learning disability. The school made no effort to find out what was going on. The Tewksbury school system also does not recognize gifted or accelerated children until the high school level where students may take AP courses. If your child is a phenomenal reader or excels in math they do not have anything in place to accommodate them. I came from a school system that physically moved children from their classroom to a higher or lower grade level classroom in order to provide that student with the opportunity to function at their level. There is little passion from the teachers unless you're academically astounding. This is coming from a former student found to be capable of any and all of the material the school offered but who ultimately did poorly.


Posted October 4, 2009

great teachers who work well with the poor building structure and limitations
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I would give the school a four star rating. Although the building is old, the teachers are good and they seem caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

Alright, to the reviewers who have said the school is alright, you are not seeing what goes on there at all, as you are blinded by the fact that the teachers are only helping the students who excel in school. Those students who are not very skilled in school are being ignored and thrown aside. The teachers are only enthusiastic about those students who are already working hard and know the material. Unfortunately, they are not following through with their roles for helping students learn, which is why I will no longer be attending this high school after this coming school year. I plan to enroll in a different school, as I value my education too much to stay there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

As a student, I can say that TMHS has some ups. While it is very well-known that the classes are oversized, the building is falling apart, and the fees are increasing, going to TMHS is, if anything, helpful in terms of college admissions. To counter what one other reviewer said, my guidance counselor has been extremely helpful. Considering the number of forms and letters associated with applying to 10 schools, my guidance counselor made my work so much easier, completing things right away, and meeting with me whenever I showed up at his office, even without an appointment. A huge asset to TMHS is its teachers. The teachers are phenomenal. At least of my teachers, they are very intelligent, have their own flairs, and write great recommendations. For those concerned about college admissions, the biggest duties lie with the student, not the guidance counselors and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

To those who say 'If you want your child to go to college, don't send them to TMHS' all I have to say is you're wrong. My daughter is graduating this year and was accepted at every college she applied to from BC to UMass. This year's graduates have been accepted to Tufts, Dartmouth, BC, Princeton, Holy Cross, BU, Amherst, and New York University as well as UMass, UNH, and UVM. If your kid wants an education, he or she will get one and will go to college. Yes, we need a new high school. And yes, we could use more teachers, but that's true of most school systems these days. Vote to fund the schools and get involved with your kids education. What can you do other than complain to make a difference?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

Poor accountability for teachers. Sports and activities are very political. The building is run down and the academic standards are low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Our daughter is in her senior year and we are all looking forward to her graduation and departure from TMHS. It's been challenging to work with the staff and get her into the appropriate course track and then get letters of recommendation for colleges. Overall the TMHS is inadequate and needs to be torn down. Unfortunately this town spent all it's budget on building a beautiful new senior center, and has newer library and police station while the high school is falling apart. I we had to do it over, we would have sent our daughter to Shawsheen Tech, which is where our son will eventually go. Very disappointed with TMHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I'm a student experiencing the sophomore slump. The teachers don't really care, so why should I? Don't we all want to learn something in a fun, welcoming environment? TMHS is the exact opposite. Some of the students are completely out of control, but no one does anything. It is filled with faculty members who continuously put you down. Why would anyone want a teacher that insults you or swears at you? No one does. As for the guidance office, they don't care about the students. They don't respond to appointment requests, there could be a serious problem going on and they wouldn't even know. Even when my parents call in due to an emergency, they do not call back. The system absolutely stinks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

As a former TMHS student who is now graduating from a well respected Boston area business school, I would caution parents against sending your children to this school. At TMHS I was not challanged in the least bit. I can only think of two or three classes in my entire four years that I had to put in any significant amount of work. Even with this this fact I still graduated with a 3.7 gpa. During my first year at college I was completely overwhellmed by the course load and difficulty of the material due to the fact that TMHS did not prepare me for college level courses. The vast majority of the teachers are either incappable of teaching the material or just dont care. In other words, if your children plan on attending college do not send them to TMHS.


Posted October 8, 2008

Its O.K the schual and everything is alright, the only problom is the school is kinda old.. it's not really a problom just the inside of the school is pretty ugly. But i over-all like it... the teachers are pretty nice..
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

let me tell you about this school system, it is awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!anyone out there have a special education student? I do and it has been the most difficult stressful annoying and least productive thing I have ever in my life had to deal with. The high school is the worst. If you do not advocate for your child they get swallowed up and spit out. They are the worst and they have broken massachusetts department of special education rules constantly. I am not going into any because they will figure out who this is but let me tell you watch out!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They have lied and covered things up and have just made a mess of things. They do not call you back, they do not want to be bothered in regular classrooms with sped children, etc. I could go on for hours. What a shame. No one cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My daughter is a sophomore in the honor program as well as a Varsity volleyball player and she is loving every minute of her high school experience at TMHS. I haven't met a teacher that hasn't impressed me with their dedication and enthusiasm both in and out of the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Although the school is a bit older, the teachers are great and make it fun to be attending there. The building's appearance does not affect the way we learn. Tewksbury Memorial Highschool is not as bad as people say, it's actually a fun little school. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2005

I have had two students graduate from Tewksbury Memorial High School and both did exceptionally well. The teachers were excellent and the curriculum was up to date with the latest standards and frameworks. There were also lots of opportunities for the students to get involved with sports, student government, clubs and community service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

This school is absolutely ludacris. My daughter goes there and thinks the school is to crowded and that they don't learn anything in the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

69%

Average SAT score

1507

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 67%
Black 2% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 Pleasant St
Tewksbury, MA 01876
Phone: (978) 640-7825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Merrimack Schools
Chelmsford, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT