Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8 & Ungraded
Public
Townsend, MA
Students enrolled: 632

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hawthorne Brook Middle School 2

Posted May 29, 2014
- a community member
I'm an eighth grade student here, just about to leave the school. And to be completely honest, it's really not that great. I'm not going to say stuff like "Oh, the teachers were mean" or that it's on a budget, but the staff are very ignorant. Communication is useless with many of the teachers, as they will barely, if not do anything, to solve any issues with you or your kid. The guidance department is also very bad as well. The current one is very...how do I say this without being rude...Insensitive? Yeah, that's the word. My peers and I have not been helped all that much by guidance. Also, EVERYONE plays favorites. I'm not exaggerating. And I'm a good student (I'm going into accelerated classes in NMRHS and taking 2 languages), and I swear, I haven't learned much.

Hawthorne Brook Middle School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I love all they options and 1 on 1 attention the kids get. Having moved from a very overcrowded city school to this one has been amazing!


Hawthorne Brook Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a teacher
Excellent staff, very supportive school administration, and hard-working, motivated students.

Hawthorne Brook Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a student
This is the best middle school you could go to! Great teachers and students. Lots of fun!

Hawthorne Brook Middle School 1

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hawthorne Brook Middle School 4

Posted May 28, 2007
- a student
Oh do I love this school! This is the best school ever. I love my teachers a ton! I have tons of friends at this school and everyone of them are wicked awesome Everyone compliments one another and they all have a sense of humor. The principle is someone I never hear from. She is always really quiet. The after-school activities are awesome! I do track and cross-country. There are also many other things you can do there that fulfill the needs and wants of everyone. OK, there is only one thing wrong with this school. It's on a budget. They have to lay-off 15 teachers and get rid of teams (for classes. they have a red,white, and blue team.) Well I hope this helps!

Hawthorne Brook Middle School 2

Posted March 13, 2007
- a parent
The quality of the academic,music,arts and,sports programs as well as the other extracurricular activities is average.The problem is in the areas of communication and organization.We have experieced problems in these two areas from the parent/teacher conferences to the after school late bus and more.

Hawthorne Brook Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hawthorne Brook Middle School
64 Brookline Rd, Townsend, MA  01469
(978) 597-6914
Last modified Hawthorne Brook Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hawthorne Brook Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top