Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hosmer Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 674 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

My daughter is now in 5th grade and we've loved every year we spent at this school. It has a real strong community, excellent teachers and staff. This school taught her to love reading books and to be very creative. Also a great music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I have had a great experience with the intergraded preschool at the Homser. Open communication is very important for me and the preschool teachers and staff have done a wonderful job in this area. They have treated my children like their own and it s so reassuring to have my children surround with people that truly care for them. We are going to be continuing with the Homser for kindergarten and I can only hope that we have the same experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Needs Some Improvement, Please: At a recent PTO meeting, the Principal noted *I like to be right*. I think avenues for school growth get closed off when the focus is on *right* answers; everyone gains when the Principal becomes a *learning* leader rather than a *needs to be right* administrator. Some additional aspects of the school deserve a fresh look: - Suggest building more diversity in staff: There's remarkable homogeneity in the teaching staff, with a lack of gender and ethnic diversity. By contrast, the aftershool program demonstrates remarkable diversity, and nearby private schools show better gender balance. -Approach to MCAS could move from excuses to higher aspirations: The Principal noted at the last PTO meeting that results are not really comparable year over year due to changes in the school population. While this could be true at the class level, it's not likely true at the grade level. She can target higher aspirations to get more gains. - Needs to learn approaches to treat parents as partners rather than outsiders: When problems occur in classrooms, they can be hidden, dismissed as individual events, or surfaced & improved. Let's see more of the latter, please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

The Early Steps preschool is really wonderful -- Excellent, warm and communicative teachers and aides, a cheerful facility with good outdoor space, and a straightforward program. Our son attended for a year and loved it -- plenty of projects, circle time, water play, everything you'd expect from a preschool at a fraction of the cost. My only hesitation centered on his classmates, many of whom were on IEPs and in need of English language instruction. It is the luck of the draw: Be prepared for children who are 4 and 5 and have big mental issues, from autism to serious behavioral troubles. The teachers do what they can but our son's class was a motley crew. Kids learn so much from their peers that we opted to take him elsewhere with no special needs kids. His behavior and manners has vastly improved since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

My son is in the preschool. I think it is a wonderful school and the teachers are fantastic. If you don't need the integrated school, it may not be for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

This school has exceeded my expectations. My child's teacher is extremely professional, and the curriculum is enriching. The PTO is very active and brings in lots of resources. Great facilities, well-stocked library, amazing after-school offerings (including Chinese and French language instruction, nature detectives, and drama). Every day of the week my son has either music, art, gym, library or computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

I have been very impressed with this school. My child's teacher has blown me away. I feel like the school does an excellent job at communicating with me on what is going on. I feel like I can contact my child's teacher at anytime if I have any problems. The co-principals are so friendly and so involved with getting the know each and every child by name along withtheir parents name. I highly recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female60%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asian40%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students56%
Female60%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female64%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asian53%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian63%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female78%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students42%
Female54%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female57%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 11% 16%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Concord Rd
Watertown, MA 02472
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 926-7740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Atrium School
Watertown, MA



Haggerty School
Cambridge, MA


Haggerty School
Cambridge, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT