Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Update 2016: Principle is still great and the school is really becoming even more of a community. Thankful to have some very excellent teachers too. My later years at Lowell were great too(great teachers). Hope that they keep Math League for both 4th and 5th grades along with add more project base STEAM. Thank goodness for parents/Watertown Strong Schools for advocating for more money and resources to help better our Elementary/Middle/High schools. We are getting better but still have a good way to go. Overall district Administration is not communicative and needs to be more on top of situations before they are in crisis mode. I'm rating this school though, but if I were to rate the Administration I would give them 2 stars...the principle/teachers and all at Lowell are excellent! 2012:Lowell school is a good school with a new interm princple this year. SHe is doing a GREAT job transitioning and responding to parents. The kids already love her and she is night and day better than the previous unresponsive prinicple(mentioned in the previous posts). The lower grade teachers so far have been great. I'm not hearing as great a praise for the upper grades but we shall see!

Lowell Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
See previous response to community. They also have lunch groups if any kids are having issues


Lowell Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
They have a good community caring curriculum which they do many events with...along with buddies(buddy kids from different grades with a buddy for the year and do reading/other things while in school).

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
I love Lowell School! My daugther needed special education and they are awsome!! Unfortunately we had to leave the school because we moved to another state. We miss Lowell school so much!!

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
We have been at the school for two years now and are not impressed at all. School leadership is weak, physical condition of the school is poor as well as the outside play areas, school seems to be in desperate need of basic supplies, and some of the teachers/staff don't even seem as though they like children. What we have learned this year is that our schools rank below average and are underfunded year after year. This explains a lot. For all these reasons I would not recommend this school or any school in Watertown.


Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
From what we have read and experienced the Lowell School is about average nationally. I sincerely hope this can improve by the time our daughter is old enough to attend.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Our school is wonderful. The teachers and principal all care about the children. My son has learned so much while being there, not just academically but about community. We are all in this world together and we need to help build each other up. Thank you to all the teachers who work hard in the trenches everyday.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Lowell School is amazing. They have a great staff on board and i'm choosing to stay in this town to continue the great education my son has been receiving. The individualized support is really thorough and they really care about our kids. I moved to the right neighborhood for sure .


Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
I have 3 children at the Lowell school. I have to say the principal and teaching staff are doing a tremendous job. They are creative in their approach to meeting the needs of all the students. New initiatives such as the Lowell Learning garden, the Buddy system and newspaper club have been fantastic additions to the school as a whole. The teachers are engaged in their efforts and I have found them open to meeting parents if there are issues or concerns. The Principal is energetic, knows the kids so well, has a happy staff and she is running a tight ship! The PTO and volunteer program is an example of great parental involvement and hopefully it will only get stronger. It takes a village to raise these children and I could not be happier with the community my children belong to..

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted June 14, 2012
- a teacher
It's wonderful that everyone is happy now. However, the competency, ineffectivness and unresponsiveness of the former Lowell School principal was brought to the attention of the school committe, the former Superintendent and the current Superintendent many times over the years. Nobody did anything about it and a lot of parents, teachers and children paid a price. It's very sad that the current Superintendent chose to ignore parents and their concerns about Donovan's past issues and behavior and appointed her Assistant Superintendent. Isn't that nice: lets give someone a higher position with more money even though they have behaved very badly for years! How can she get a promotion after all of the terrible things that she's done. It's disgusting and appalling. The School Committee is/was aware of her antics over the years. She was appointed this position so that she can retire in three years with a higher pension. She also accepted a position in Newton as principal of an elementary school. As soon as Fitzgerald was appointed Superintendent, Donovan told the Newton that she changed her mind and no longer wanted the job. Hmmmm, sounds like it was planned all along!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
175 Orchard Street, Watertown, MA  02472
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (617) 926-7770
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top