Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wayland Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 638 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

I went to Wayland Middle School from 6th to 8th grade, so for the full three years. I personally could not stand it. Every single teacher picks favorites and treats the other kids terribly. They rush learning, just jamming information into kids' brains for the MCAS. They don't care if we actually remember anything we learn for our futures, which we don't because we were so rushed in learning it. This school is extremely stressful. In 8th grade I had 6-7 hours of homework each night. Other than that, the academics are OK. Also, the school is also falling apart. While the high school was just rebuilt, the middle school really needs to be as well. There are holes in the ceiling and they put trash cans under them when it rains. This makes in difficult for students to get to their lockers. There is also holes in the stall doors in the bathroom and they don't lock. The school tries so hard not to have bullies, which I give them credit for, but it doesn't work. There's still so much bullying that the teachers see and do nothing about. I am ecstatic to be leaving this school; it was over all a very bad experience for me.


Posted August 6, 2013

This school is outrageous. I attended this school from 6 thru 7th grade. I would come back from vacations and all of a sudden all my friends would have turned on me. I was bullied everyday in the hallway when I would but my coat in my locker. A teacher would just stand and watch. In the hallways almost every student would scream and yell foul language at eachother. During Lunch if you were not "popular" you were not allowed to sit with the "popular" kids. Even the asian kids had to have their own table to eat lunch at because the other students were so racist. I was hit daily by other students. The princable will do NOTHING about the behavior of these students. She will always have a "Anti-Bullying" week, but as always, it is ineffective. A student would text me and say very hurtful things to me she also spread many vicious rumors about me when I was sick for a week. She would tell everyone to not talk to me and pretend I was invisable. When I hit my head and fell unconscious a teacher didn't even help me, instead he watched and did nothing to help me. I am very displeased with this way the school has treated me. Don't send your children to this horrid school. Written by a student


Posted December 26, 2012

For the most part, the academics are very good, however there are a few classes in the various grades where the teaching is not great. The students are unfocused in many classes. Language and behavior both inside the classroom and in the halls needs to improve. Bullying happens often in the cafeteria and teachers usually ignore bullying if it happens in their classes. Even though the school does make an effort with their anti-bullying program, it barely impacts the overall school climate.


Posted October 24, 2012

The middle school, was once a bright spot in this district, sadly that is no longer true. Academically it is top notch, but the current administration has changed the atmosphere at this school. There is a remarkable lack of discipline. Yes, there are rules, but they are not enforced. The children run wild in the halls, use foul language (in front of faculty!,) dress in an inappropriate manner, and show a grave disrespect for their teachers and their peers. The principal is ineffective and distant with both students and parents. The administration and the teachers are horrible at returning emails and phone calls-I have to actually physically go to the school and hunt people down to address my concerns. Bullying is tolerated and even excused. The administration talks a good game, but it's all talk. I'm always so confused after parent teacher night because it all sounds so good, you find it's nothing but a veneer. There is a new superintendent and I hope he'll be able to correct this mess. Academics are certainly important, but growing good, responsible citizens is equally critical and the middle school in Wayland fails at that part of their very important responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

WMS provides the perfect transition from elementary school. The staff truly cares about the students and understands the unique demands of this age group, both academically and socially. We are lucky to have such a great school in our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

I am a student at the school, and it's been a great expierence being a student at WMS. There is good energy at the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2006

Though the whole district is good, this is the gem of the system. Kids are excited to learn, teachers are excellent quality. Resource program is very good for most kids that are in it (GREAT for my own daughter). Music program is very strong, particularly the band program. Each grade also has a special field trip that unites the students and focuses on that grade's topic. 6th does a bike trip to Walden Pond (Thoreau), 7th to an organic farm and special caves(Rachel Carson and the environment)8th to Cape Cod and Washington (Martin Luther King, earth sciences. Kids learn to study, and can qualify for advanced math all three years and advanced science in 8th grade. Civility and participation are also important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

Very Very Good Music Program, Jazz Band one of best in state! Smart Real teachers for the most part, most very smart, and good at teaching. Very helpful atmosphere, always someone willing to help any student for anything. Trusting enviorment, yet still with control. Parents are incredibly involved. Drama program in general is just INCREDIBLE! Music Teacher WROTE the musical, and its going to be published. MCAS Grades excellent. Downside (maybe upside)is that a lot of homework is given. I am in the 7th grade, and i get between 1-3.5 hours of homework a night. On project work nights i have 3-6! High standerds to meet! But learn an incredible ammount. Very diverse community. No fights, grafiti, very clean. Violence isn't tolerated. Has a pretty decent arts and media department. pretty good network of computers, laptops, and desktops (250+ comps). Small classes. Overall, incredible school, with room for unimportant improvment. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2005

Above average but not excellent school experience. Wayland has good but not progressive school system; excessive administration restrictions that are inflexible. The teachers make the middle school and education tops, school administration from principal through superintendant are overrated and a bit arrogant. Teachers to excellent job to challenge students with work assignments and developing self confidence in preparation for high school. Town designates considerable money for school system which provides ability to maintain this high level school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African American50%
Asian87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Black 5% 8%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Main St
Wayland, MA 01778
Phone: (508) 655-6670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cameron Middle School
Framingham, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT