Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-8
Public district
West Newbury, MA
Students enrolled: 524
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pentucket Regional Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
The new superintendent and principals have made great strides over the past few years. We've had a very positive experience, compared to reviews in the past. Restored advanced math program that was eliminated years ago, high school writing lab elective and numerous new options provided by the new innovation schools.

Pentucket Regional Middle School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Three kids, all high grades, and very impressed with the attention given to them by the staff. Math very strong.


Pentucket Regional Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
The Principal is very weak, will drag this school down further. Personal experience has been pretty bad.

Pentucket Regional Middle School 2

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
Some parents say that this school was a wasted two years of their child's education. Now they want to have the high school principal split his responsibilities between the high school and middle school. What a mistake that would be. This school needs true leadership to turn it around and they will not get that by sharing a principal with the high school!

Pentucket Regional Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
Pentucket Middle school's leadership is terrible! some of the teachers are okay but the policy's put into place by the administration leaves much to be desired. Bullying is a problem in this school and the administration refuses to peel the onion to investigate! 20 years ago this was a premiere school, it is now below average. Even though it will be a financial hardship, my son will be attending private school next year. They had better get their act together before all of the West Newbury kids are replaced by Haverhill school choice kids.


Pentucket Regional Middle School 2

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
We recently moved to MA and chose to move to this district because it scored better than many others in the area. The district is underfunded, which is nothing new, but their problems cannot be attributed only to their lack of funding. There are no extracurriculars to speak of, and what there is you have to pay for. The band is a joke, there is no orchestra, no advanced classes, and my child has been in the newspaper club for 4 months now and they have yet to print an issue of their paper. I really like the majority of our teachers and think they are good at what they , but I feel like they aren't supported by the district or by other parents.

Pentucket Regional Middle School 2

Posted January 01, 2008
- a parent
I am hoping with a new principal in place (2007-2008 school year) that this school will see some much needed change. Many of the practices and beliefs about education used at this school are outdated and ineffective. I have witnessed several very bright students 'fail' within the walls of this school simply because the school's methods are so rigid there is no room to try new things. The teachers were made to follow the outdated methods and strategies that were in place and again, many children of well above averagge intelligience 'failed' under the school's methods.

Pentucket Regional Middle School
no rating

Posted August 04, 2007
- a student
Amazing school. I went there for both 7th and 8th grade, and loved every minute of it. It may be underfunded but, with the exception of some teachers, the teachers are great and they do a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pentucket Regional Middle School
20 Main Street, West Newbury, MA  01985
(978) 363-2957
Last modified Pentucket Regional Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pentucket Regional Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top