Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Name Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2012
- a community member
I attended Holy Name from grade 1 to 6, leaving in 1984. I had some excellent teachers, good discipline, and lots of opportunity to learn how to learn and express my creativity. At the same time, I will acknowledge that my participation in the Holy Name Marching band was probably the most influential activity that shaped my future. I went on to Boston Latin, marched in the Boston Crusaders Drum & Bugle Corps, graduated with an engineering degree from the University of Pennsylvania and I now reside in Mumbai, India. I am very grateful to the education I received at Holy Name. I do hope that the current school administration feels just as inspired to motivate the next generation.

Holy Name Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2010
- a community member
Very expensive for a private school. Good location. The curriculum could be expanded on and the teachers to have a more open mind about science and natural history.


Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a community member
My 8 nieces and nephews attended this school and all went to private junior high and high schools. All have done well, and are independent thinkers. This comes from the home as well. My siblings considered this money well spent. Four are in very good colleges (Bentley, St Anslems, Bryant & Holy Cross) and the other four are in Ursuline, Roxbury Latin and Latin Academy. Can only hope that they continue to do well.

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
The basic education is what you will get. Some of the staff are the best you will find.


Holy Name Elementary School 4

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
Great school , good teachers , & made my son into a weal rounde man

Holy Name Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 03, 2007
- a community member
I rec'd an excellent grounding at Holy Name & went on to academic success at Latin & college.


Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
This school relies on memorization, route learning and 'teaching to the middle'. There is little creativity, writing, critical thinking or analysis required of students. My son attended for grades K-6 and got straight A+ marks all the way through (with minimal effort). He tested into Boston Latin and almost flunked out. He could not write, he could not think critically, he could not analyze things, it was a shock to learn how far behind he was. Many Holy Name students end up flunking out of more elite exam and private schools. Don't waste your money here, you will regret it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name Elementary School
535 West Roxbury Parkway, West Roxbury, MA  02132
(617) 325-9338
Last modified Holy Name Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Holy Name Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top