Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beethoven Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2012

I am a 61 year old lawyer, who visited the school last year to speak to a class about the U.S. Constitution. The school set-up was very impressive and the children I met were bright and extremely well behaved. The school is a perfect size and the administration and teaching staff were all involved in the day's special program. My children went to Wellesley elementary schools and then Dana Hall and Portsmouth Abbey boarding school. However, I would send my children to this school and I believe those children and parents who are able to do so are extremely fortunate.


Posted March 21, 2008

pretty good wen it comes to education... wish it gave more feild trips tho!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2005

The Beethovan staff is exceptional and an asset to our diverse community. The school has excelled under the guidance of the leadership of Ms. Nash since her appointment and will continue to do so in the coming years. My daughter has flourished in the instrument music program offered at the Beethovan. Lauren Lundin
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2005

I do not know where the bad review came from with George Canoodle. My daughter is a K2 student at the Beethoven and I have never witnessed any security issues. I am very comfortable with my childs safety and the safety of all the students in their care. Mrs Nash runs a very tight secure school and all the members of the staff follow in her footsteps. If you are late you need to be buzzed in you are signed in at the office and a staff member brings the children to their classroom. I have no issues with their security and would gladly field any questions regarding the obvious error made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

I am a very proud parent of the Beethoven school. I have never encountered any serious security issues there. It is unfortunate that 'Georgie Canoodle'experienced something that none of us here have experienced. The Beethoven has a high parent and teacher involvement and if there were any issues that concerned our childrens' safety you can believe we all would do everything we could to fix any existing problems. I am very confident in knowing that my child is not only in a school that cares about her education but her safety as well. I've never been in a school were the principal is always available. She's there in the morning to greet the children and parents and she is there to assist with dismissal. She is a principal who cares about making herself available to her school community. I am proud to be a parent of the Beethoven School. Magalie Neff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

The Beethoven is a great up-and-coming school. I'm not sure which school 'Georgie Cadoodle' is referring to in an earlier post. The Beethoven staff run a tight ship. I entrust them with my child with the knowledge she is in a safe environment. I think it's in part why kids flourish there. I am yet to meet a Beethoven parent that didn't feel the same. As an actual Beethoven student parent, I would be happy field inquiries regarding the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

My daughter is in K2. I love this school! The teachers and the principal are great, have great goals and a clear vision for the school. They encourage and support parent participation and input, and are accessible and friendly. The staff are on the ball, know all the children (and their families!) and create a nurturing environment. And if there are disclipline issues (as there are in my daughter's class), the staff deals with the issue quickly and effectively, and keeps all parents who wish to know in the loop. Though the child with issues is not mine, I appreciate a school which works with managing and resolving problem behavior so the child can learn. We gave up a scholarship to a prestigious private school to attend the Beethoven, and have no regrets about our choice. We love the school and think it is a hidden gem in the BPS system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

This school has some serious security issues, and I would not send my child there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 16%
White 35% 67%
Black 19% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-8155

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5125 Washington St
West Roxbury, MA 02132
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-8149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


William H Ohrenberger
West Roxbury, MA


Kilmer K-8 School
West Roxbury, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT