Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 76 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This is a great school for your childrens. Great teaching. well manered students, and the students are completely different from the public school. When my daughter come home from school all she talk about is school and how happy she is with the teachers and and her classmates. They have a lot of activities that parents can get involved with thier children as well. No time is wasted in St Thomas.It is a little pricy but my daughter is very happy there. And it was worth searching for better school for daughter. My daughter's progress has tremendously improve. Better teaching, Friendly environment, and the teachers are very happy to have my daughter to be in that school. As for me i couldn't be happier that my daughter is happy and produce a better result. Marina Shah
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

My daughter is in St Thomas since preschool and now she is going to 3rd grade. I love the school and especially after school program they have. Except the tuition that they increase it every year which obviously parents wouldn't like. Other than that School is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My son is in second grade and loves the school. He fits the description of a good student, and just thrives there academically. I can't see anywhere they could improve on content in the 3 R's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

My son and daughter both went to St.Thomas and now my granddaughter gose there, it's a great school.Ask any coach in town and you can tell which kids go to St.thomas by how polite they are and easy to coach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

The St, Thomas Preschool is the best in the area. They have a 3 year & 4 year old program & also offer an after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son has been in St. Thomas since Kindergarten. It is a great school for the easily impressionable children since they stress morals and values. I find they may be slightly behind public in reading and math though. I have a daughter in the public schools and she is doing things that her brother didn't at the same grade level. This school is not good for anyone with any type of behavior or learning problems as they only have basic teachers with no special needs. If you can afford it send your child here for a great, safe learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

i have been in st thomas school since kindergarden and am now in the 7th grade i am happy with my school and think i am getting a great education!! i want to thank all of my teachers for all the time and knowledge that they put in to make our education worth while!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

My son has been at St Thomas since Kindergarten and my daughter will be going in the fall. St Thomas is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The teachers that I have dealt with are always available is you have any questions or concerns. The principal is kind and knows each child by name and most of the parents. She and her staff are a great example of how a school should be run.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hispanic 6% 16%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Springfield
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Pine Street
West Springfield, MA 01089
Phone: (413) 739-4131

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mittineague
West Springfield, MA


Philip G Coburn
West Springfield, MA


Memorial
West Springfield, MA


Robinson Park
Agawam, MA


Tatham
West Springfield, MA


West Springfield Middle School
West Springfield, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT