Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
West Springfield, MA
Students enrolled: 370
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Bowie 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
great school excellent office staff and compationate teachers. my daughter needed move of a challenge with her reading and the staff stepped up and helped with that. PTO is involved and keeps parents informed

Bowie 5

Posted February 01, 2012
- a community member
it is unfair to blame the teachers for being completely geared to MCAS, this is the state's doing, ALL schools in the state have become this way because unfortunately, they have to, if they aren't, then the students don't do as well on the tests and then the school becomes "under performing", I personally do not agree with the state testing for this exact reason. My husband and I both attended Bowie as children, my niece attends now and my daughter will start in the fall, in my experience the principal is wonderful (yes he was there when I was a child!), he's very involved with the children and from what I've seen they love and respect him. I do think there are a few teachers who probably shouldn't have decided to work with children at all but to be fair, every school has a couple! I think this school is fantastic and know my daughter will be in good hands!


Bowie 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
Until this year I would have gave this school 5 stars but my son entered the fourth grade. It all goes down hill from here. Fourth grade teachers are awful, the homework is ridiculous and they treat every student as well.as the parents like they are three years old. You have to sign every paper they bring home and if you forget they take it out on your child and make them stay in at recess. They are so driven to MCAS I think they are really forgetting about the kids. Also don't get me started about the monthly "bookreports" if you could call them that. All I have to say is thank you fourth grade teachers for making my son hate school.

Bowie 1

Posted March 08, 2010
- a student
I agree with all the postings too! Sadley I am a student at this school. The principal isnt the greatest and forces us to do activities at school which we do not want to do, such as Tae Kwon Do..Hardley anyone at Bowie likes this activity. There are some good teachers, and more bad teachers. There is a lot of bullying, which the teachers and principal do nothing about. And they say 'Bowie school is a safe place, Teachers and Parents work together,We learn skills and manners...I dont agree with this mission statement at ALL! Thank god I am a fith grader...this will be my final year of tourcher at Elementary School!

Bowie
no rating

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I agree with all the postings. This school is ok but the principal is something to be desired. Because this is a performing school, I would not send my child if they have a learning disability. My child did have a problem and was not given all the resources that were availabe if we were at another schoold


Bowie 3

Posted November 20, 2007
- a parent
While there are many enthusiatic and wonderful teachers at Bowie, the few that are below par can really make for a miserable year. Complaints to the pricipal are brushed off. He does not seem to take any parent comments, complaints, or suggestions seriously. Which is probably why the teachers in the school support him so thoroughly: he stays out of thier classrooms!

Bowie 4

Posted June 03, 2007
- a student
The only problem I have with this school is the principal... He is very politician like. He doesn't fix any problems at the school. This school, like a lot of the other schools in Chicopee are MCAS-driven and all of the lessons are planned around that. There is a strict schedule that must be followed with the lessons, which isn't good.

Bowie 3

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
The last poster described Bowie to a 't'. There are some wonderful teachers, but, there are some who should not be in the profession. Any complaints made fall on deaf ears.


Bowie 3

Posted July 20, 2006
- a parent
I believe Bowie is an overall 'OK' school. I concur the other parent about Mr. Burgess. Nothing seems to bother him about the students or parent complaints. He in very 'oh well' attitude. I think the school is MCAS driven and not really focused on hands on projects. Some teachers are great and some are not so great. I think the school district in whole needs to step up to the possibility that there are other programs out there for learning and teaching styles and stop being so 19th century on their lesson planning. The school grade I give is a C+.

Bowie 3

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
Pretty decent teaching staff overall. My one major complaint is that I believe the school is losing site of teaching the students, and placing more emphasis on scoring well on the MCAS. My minor complaint, the principal Mr. Burgess...If a politician is what you consider a good principal, then he is your man. (hence the MCAS driven teaching staff) Any and all problems are answered the same non-commital way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowie
80 A Street, West Springfield, MA  01089
(413) 594-3532
Last modified Bowie is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bowie Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top