Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
West Yarmouth, MA
Students enrolled: 376

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mattacheese Middle School 1

Posted December 22, 2014
- a parent
I wish I could support this school's services. This year the MCAS results showed a continued decline in performance, reaching the bottom 14%. The results were announced with the most meager of steps to improve student performance ... a couple of extra math classes and a new reading teacher. No school assessment, no strategic plan for future year on year improvement, no partnerships with university education programs, no cost analysis required to educate our children to a satisfactory level. My daughter comes home with very little homework, if any, and is able to complete most assignments during class. She is not challenged. After school programs feature activities such as beads, in addition to music and other activities, but little in the way of challenging materials. There are virtually no writing assignments to challenge and grow literacy and writing skills. Finally, the two year program stifles intergrade cooperation found in other district schools with four or more years of grades. Mattacheese has a behavioral problem as evidenced by reported suspension rates twice the state average. This was not addressed either in the school's MCAS response.

Mattacheese Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
If your child needs extra help in Math or is in a 504 plan, than this is not the School 4 Ur child. The most UNORGANIZED School ever. The Principal has no time 2 speak to parents EVER, and passes the buck off onto the other 2-Vise Principals to deal with any situations. Treats parents like outsiders and make them feel like they R disturbing them when they hav a concern. The receptionist who has been there 4-ever & needs 2 retire-horrible attitude. The School needs a WHOLE Make over stuck in the late 70's. entire School smells like mildew. I think if there was a NEW PRINCIPAL-things wud B different. Don't understand why tax payers R paying for 3-police officers to work @ the School on a daily basics doing nothing but stand out front in the morning drop off with their arms crossed & do nothing OR sit in there cop cars and watch parents pik up & drop off kids. Police station is next door to School wat do we need all these cops 4? Spend the money on the School & books! Worst School ever!


Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school as a kid. I'm now an adult and can't begin to tell you the impact that all the teachers left on me. A little tip to students who go there: the teachers are hard on you because they want you to be the best you can be, sometimes the most strict teacher ends up being the most understanding. They will help you in any way they can. In 8th grade one of my teachers offered to pay for half of the New York trip out of his own pocket because I didn't come from a wealthy family and couldn't afford to go. A wonderful school with amazing teachers. I don't know if Mrs. Colgan still teaches there but she was my favorite. She's very sarcastic and doesn't like non-sence but is actually extremely helpful and kind. Not to mention her dry sence of humar...some people didn't understand her but I did. If she does work there you guys have to try her home made fudge. She hates it when you ask but if you do good she will make it for you. =)

Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
Awesome school! Teachers always go the extra mile! Kids are great and help make the school fun.

Mattacheese Middle School 3

Posted December 23, 2009
- a student
I am in eighth grade at this school and it's okay, i guess. Teachers don't always pay attention to the students and can be unfair sometimes. The principal is a little ridiculous sometimes. Other than that it's an average school.


Mattacheese Middle School 1

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted March 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a student
i love mattachese and all the teachers are soooo nice but some give alot of homework.


Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
I go to this school and i think its great, if people are too strict school isnt fun for kids to learn in ( i think ) the teachers have good relationships with the students because a lot of them can relate to us. our principle is fine and everyone loves this school and i think it desurves a much better grade than a 6.

Mattacheese Middle School 5

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mattacheese Middle School
400 Higgins Crowell Rd, West Yarmouth, MA  02673
(508) 778-7979
Last modified Mattacheese Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mattacheese Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top