Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westfield High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 9 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

district has a terrible new HS principal that chooses to lead by fear, humiliation, inconsistency and intimidation. He is condescending to parents and makes a public mockery if they ask a question by humiliating them (I can only imagine how a student feels if this type of treatment is inflicted upon the IN FRONT OF THEIR PEERS, egregious!!). Most of the PTO is just a bunch of kids in grown up bodies holding on to their 7th grade click in which most have never lived beyond a 5 mile radius of Westfield, never open to new members with fresh ideas and I have never seen any of them welcome new families ATTENTION PTO : YOU DO NOT LIVE IN BEVERLY HILLS AND YOU ARE NOT BETTER THAN ANYONE IN THIS LOVELY TOWN. GET OVER YOURSELVES! the superintendent is full of avoidance refuses to deal with specific ongoing issues and conveniently scoots out of meetings before they end so NO ONE can talk to her.enough with the half days and days off during the year. IT IS HUGE IMPACT ON FAMILIES SCHEDULES AND WALLET, IF YOU CAN'T ORGANIZE YOUR SELF BETTER, DO IT ON A SATURDAY LIKE MOST OF THE BUSINESSES ACROSS THIS COUNTRY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

If there was zero star rating, I would rate this school a zero. What they call special education is really a dumping ground for any and every student who is a problem. They lump actual students with learning disabilities with behavioral problem students. Add to this a large bulling problem, chewing tobacco spit all over the stair wells, fights and lewd public displays of affection and you have a very underperformed school. Also there is an extreme lack of communication between home and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

Many AP and Honors courses to choose from. If you take the hardest courses offered and work hard you can get into any college from Westfield High. One of my sons was accepted to Bowdoin this year, and we have friends whose kids have been accepted to (Ivy League) U Penn, also Hamilton, Colgate, and Boston College. Some great teachers, AP courses are difficult, and great sports teams. The school itself is a little crowded, and it would be nice to have a new school, but there are many very bright kids going there, and my kids have really enjoyed their time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

I am a mother of two kids that attended this school. My son dropped out. The drop out rate is Huge for this school! My daughter, now in 10th grade was thinking about dropping out until I decided to drive her myself to Springfield every day. She's doing so much better in Springfield. Westfield High does Not care about the kids with any kind of learning disability. Both my kids have ADHD and the only way that Westfield deals with these kids is by Not dealing with them! They just stick them in room "139"! They put all the kids with disabilities together in room 139! So my daughter was stuck in room 139 with kids with severe mental disabilites. Not fair because she was set up for failure being in that room because she couldn't concentrate. There is a Huge Drop out Rate! I know of Sooo many kids personally that have dropped out!! Also, there Is a Huge Drug problem at this school! Westfield doesn't care about the students, they are sweeping it under the rug to save face and is refusing to address these issues!! For the most part, the staff is extremely grouchy. This school has Serious Issues that Need to be addressed!! We are Extremely Disappointed with Westfield schools!! :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Why is it when students are bullied day after day at Westfield High the School Administration never does nothing to correct the problems, Students can make complaints about being bullied and nothing at all gets done till its to late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

I was a student in WHS I did not like it. there where some teachers that hatted kids. they were mean and grumpy everyday. Also this school does not prepare for college. when i got to college it was a big difference. In WHS i never studied and got good grades but in college i had to learn to study. This school had old computers that took forever to work. they were old macs and windows 98. USB did not work so all teh work had to be saved on floppy if we wanted to do a PowerPoint. it took me forever to find one. This school is really poor. Some of the teachers were good but some where weird.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

This school should be ashamed. I would love if this school district would stop touting the MA MCASA levels. They are NOT contributing to the success of these numbers. The lack of a quality education in this town is criminal, every last one of these officials should be fired, because they have no idea what a good education is, this is the 21st century....get with the times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I just graduated and I loved whs although a bigger budget would hav been helpful
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

I am a parent of a student and a prior student myself...when I attended, most of the teachers actually cared about the students...now my daughter comes home telling me how the topic of the class is rarely discussed and if it is it isn't for a significant amount of time before the teachers talk about 'not so important' things...how are they supposed to learn and pass a class if they are off topic more than they are on? I think a little free time in a class is fine but not most of the class on a regular basis. Teachers are underpaid and it's our kids who are hurting the most. This school is very sports involved and centers itself around its sports rather than studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

As a student I feel that there is too much focus on sports and very little recognition for academics. The AP courses are consistent, but Honors classes tend to vary in difficulty. Most of the teachers are very helpful, but there is not enough space or funding! Some teachers even have to go around on carts all day! The band and chorus programs are also underfunded and the school is in great need of updated technology. Most classrooms only have one computer for the teacher and computer labs are extremely hard to book.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

Excellent School. Great sports programs! Good academic incentives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I am a current student at whs and would like to say that it is without a doubt, poor. there's not enough money going to funding in most areas. this is becoming a large problem because freshmen classes are getting bigger. more students = more $$ needed. it's a simple equation but the city doesn't understand it. teachers and other faculty are wonderful but the truth is that they barely get to teach. since whs is paired up with westfield state college, student teachers are being brought into our classrooms very often. i will be a junior and have completed and passed 28 class semesters, i have already had 3 student teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2006

I have graduated in the year 2005 and as a former student I would like to share my opinion. I am originally from New Jersey and I spent my last two years at WHS. I have to say it was the most stressful two years of my life. For one the school is broke. The library is very limited with resources and their grading system is so misunderstanding. The worst thing is the MCAS which is a state test. This school is very very stressful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2006

I'm a senior at WHS. The administration tends to focus too much on sports: granted, sports don't get astronomical funding, but it seems a disproportional amount of value is placed on the teams, rather than academics. Speaking of academics, class quality varies. The advanced placement courses are consistently challenging. However, I haven't had a teacher that I've absolutely hated. One weakness is that at throughout your four years, you are likely to be taught for a semester by a student teacher from the college. The arts programs give students a genuine oppurtunity to express themselves, but the larger band groups and choir are slighly below average. In sum, Westfield High will give back slightly less than what you put in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2006

February 2006 I am a student, and over all i'd have to say this school is pretty decent. Most teachers are nice, and helpfull. Ive excelled in many areas ive never excelled in before.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2004

I am not a parent, but a graduate with the class of 2003. And I loved how the faculty treated each student equally and were great with everything! I feel honored to have graduated from such a great academic school. Never before have I heard of teachers going beyond their natural powers to help the student do a great job! Mr Daley, I am going to miss you! Conratualtions and best of wishes with your retirement! Thank you for all your help!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

I believe the administration and the teachers are committed to helping the students reach their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female63%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
17%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
57%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

60%

Average SAT score

1495

Graduation rate

87%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Hispanic 9% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 1% 8%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

177 Montgomery Rd
Westfield, MA 01085
Phone: (413) 572-6466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Mary High School
Westfield, MA


Academy High School
Westfield, MA


White Oak School
Westfield, MA


Bible Baptist Academy
West Springfield, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT