Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-5 & Ungraded
Public
Weston, MA
Students enrolled: 371

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Field Elementary School 3

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
An average school. If you are looking for a school with high standards, this school is not.

Field Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Two years of tedium. My children would have learned much more on their own than they did there. If you surveyed the parents to see how many are educating their kids outside the school it would be the majority, that is why this school ranks so high. I'm afraid the new building will not improve this.


Field Elementary School 2

Posted April 23, 2012
- a community member
I had a very nice fourth grade teacher at Field School, however the academics were too easy for me, and I wasn't being challenged enough. While Weston academics tend to be very top notch, they still were not challenging enough for me. I ended up leaving the school system to go to a extremely rigorous private school: Winsor, were I am much happier and challenged appropriately. Final line: this school is generally great but if you tend not to be challenged, don't go there.

Field Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
The teachers seem to care more about getting enough days off, complaining and trying to avoid the parents than actually having the students learn something constructive and prepare them for Middle School! The principal is an arm of the superintendent, a figure head, and smiles a lot, shakes hands, but does not do much for the students other than 'high 5' 'them. If there is a problem, he will support the teacher over the child and parent. Where is out tax money going again?? He does nothing, but at least he smiles and is optimistic. The school is in need of real leadership and the worn-out teachers who are too tired and tenured to teach need to be farmed out. This principal is a PR person who cares more about a new school building and less about what actually goes on INSIDE as far as learning! He won't stand up to the teachers..they control him. He tries to make their job easier at the expense of the students, IMO.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
The principal is great and takes the time to get to know the kids. The teachers are very flexible and encouraging. The curriculum is interesting and fun, yet challenging. One of the best schools I've seen.


Field Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
the teachers are amazing, and although the superintendant can be quite trying, the Princiapl takes time to get to know everyone, and interacts with all of the kids. It is a great environment

Field Elementary School 2

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Field Elementary School 3

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are spoiled. Old principal is gone (a good thing), new principal much better to deal with, but hasn't really changed anything. The teachers still control the school, the curriculum and your kid's life. The principal needs to learn to stand up to these tenured teachers and consider the students first. They need to weed out the burnt out teachers who are no longer interested in teaching the students.


Field Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Field Elementary School
99 School St, Weston, MA  02493
(781) 529-8000
Last modified Field Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Field Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top