Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Field Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
Kate Brewer, a fourth grade teacher, is one of the better teachers here. Holly Triconi is a passionate 5th grade teacher is understands how important it is to be a good writer. Wish there were more of these two ladies at Field.

Field Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
Ineffective at the 5th grade level. More work was actually done in the 4th grade.


Field Elementary School 2

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
I had 2 kids go through Field School, and I would say neither were well prepared for the rigors of Middle School in Weston, which is quite challenging. 4th grade is better than 5th grade in Field School. 5th grade for my kids was pretty boring, and not a work of work was accomplished. Kids don't know how to write nor do they write enough. The principal is definitely just a PR person and not an educator. Problems are not addressed when taken to him. He just smiles politely. Need new leadership at this school! Best thing at Field is the beautiful new facility.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school with caring, engaged and helpful faculty/ staff. Beautiful campus that offers several programs after and during school. Field School meets the ability level of a range of students. My children truly enjoy their experience and are pleased.

Field Elementary School 3

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
An average school. If you are looking for a school with high standards, this school is not.


Field Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Two years of tedium. My children would have learned much more on their own than they did there. If you surveyed the parents to see how many are educating their kids outside the school it would be the majority, that is why this school ranks so high. I'm afraid the new building will not improve this.

Field Elementary School 2

Posted April 23, 2012
- a community member
I had a very nice fourth grade teacher at Field School, however the academics were too easy for me, and I wasn't being challenged enough. While Weston academics tend to be very top notch, they still were not challenging enough for me. I ended up leaving the school system to go to a extremely rigorous private school: Winsor, were I am much happier and challenged appropriately. Final line: this school is generally great but if you tend not to be challenged, don't go there.

Field Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
The teachers seem to care more about getting enough days off, complaining and trying to avoid the parents than actually having the students learn something constructive and prepare them for Middle School! The principal is an arm of the superintendent, a figure head, and smiles a lot, shakes hands, but does not do much for the students other than 'high 5' 'them. If there is a problem, he will support the teacher over the child and parent. Where is out tax money going again?? He does nothing, but at least he smiles and is optimistic. The school is in need of real leadership and the worn-out teachers who are too tired and tenured to teach need to be farmed out. This principal is a PR person who cares more about a new school building and less about what actually goes on INSIDE as far as learning! He won't stand up to the teachers..they control him. He tries to make their job easier at the expense of the students, IMO.


Field Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
The principal is great and takes the time to get to know the kids. The teachers are very flexible and encouraging. The curriculum is interesting and fun, yet challenging. One of the best schools I've seen.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
the teachers are amazing, and although the superintendant can be quite trying, the Princiapl takes time to get to know everyone, and interacts with all of the kids. It is a great environment

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Field Elementary School
16 Alphabet Lane, Weston, MA  02493
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (781) 786-5500
Last modified Field Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 4-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top