Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 28 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2012

I think your experience really depends on who your child get as a teacher. My child has been there for 4 years and went through 3 teachers, one of them ended up teaching them again after a promotion. It was a mixed feeling. For the first 3 years, we had issues after issues with the teachers. I even started to wonder whether the problem is with me. So I started to volunteer a lot more in school and trying to see things from the teacher's perspective. Surely it's not easy to be the principle or the teacher. But I do agree that there are a lot of things certain teacher can improve on. On the last year there, we got so lucky that my child had an awesome 3rd grade teacher. The whole approach is refreshing and we had such a great year. She constantly challenges my child so she knows what is expected of her. Unlike other teachers, she does not ran to principle with every little issue, instead she was in constant contact with me to help my child resolve issues. My suggestion is have a conversation with your children's teacher at the beginning of school and explain what are you expecting. Push a little bit but be fair to the teachers too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

We absolutely adore Woodland School! My son is in K and now has a great love for school and his community. Not only has he learned reading and math, he is also learning how to interact with his peers and teachers. We have been very impressed with his growth this year. I was also glad that he had NO homework since we work on reading and math on our own as well as music and several other activities. If you value a strong community school as well as a place that fosters a love for learning, you cannot go wrong with Woodland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

this schools is the most disappointing of all in this school system. Children have no homework and are not supported by the system when they falter. Conversely, If they are academically advanced, then they are basically ignored and criticized--you can't win here, imo. And you cannot win with this principal. She has an abject mistrust of the parents and fosters an adversarial relationship with them. She does not like or respect the community, in my experience If you can avoid this sub-par school, by all means do! Ask to register your pre-K child through Country Elementary NOT Woodland! OR try private school (Meadowbrook) or Wellesley public. We are so glad we chose to move on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

As a former parent at Woodland School, I feel that my children were well prepared for the challenges ahead. The principal was always available for parents. The faculty was very involved and caring to the families. I always recommend Woodland School to new families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My children have had negative experiences at this school. The problems begin with the leadership and the approach this school has to community learning. The focus is very narrow so as not to include those children who are achieving beyond grade level. We tried very hard to make this school work, but it did not. There is nowhere to go if the principal is unsympathetic to your issues. I would urge those with children who are above average-to-smart range to enroll at Country where it is much less stressful and the teachers are able to offer alternatives to challenge highly able learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Committed to excellence on every level. Teachers are the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I have two children, one with special needs and the other a high-performing Type A. I suppose I never appreciated the fact that sometimes great teaching may involve telling a parent what a parent may not want to hear. I was one of those three years ago and have changed my opinion 180 degrees. I love Woodland - and the 'bad news' that i didn't want to believe in Kindergarten made us grow as a family. One of the toughest conversations to ever have - hearing your child needs special services. Both my children adore their experiences there, are kind and respectful. Yes, the principal is direct, but she is fair and honest. I appreciate these qualities. I read these other comments and I guess to each his own; but, if you visit the school, talk to parents in the halls and I believe you will feel differently. Been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

This school is the reason that teacher's unions should be abolished. While there are a handful of excellent teachers, most have the attitude of 'I know what's best for your kid, lay off'. Some of the exchanges between parents and teachers, parents and prinicpal could be categorized under 'profoundly unprofessional'. The school needs a complete overhaul and I agree with others, there are better choices in Weston for elementary ed--both public (Country) and private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My children also attended this school and I consider it to be the weak link in the Weston school system. The curriculum is not at all challendging, There is no ability leveling whatsoever--so if your child is bright and motivated to learn, this is not the right school (IMO). Yes, there are some very strong teachers here, but there are also some weak ones. In our experience, the principal is not interested in the community or educating the children to their ability. She seems very antagonistic and the joke is that if you have a perfect child with no issues and you never compalin or need to deal with her, you will like her! I don't think she is a genuine or a very kindly person, in my experience. And these qualities are so important in an elementary principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

I love this school. The teachers are excellent and do an excellent job of communicating with the parents. I find the curriculum very challenging and have seen a tremendous improvement in my child this year. I have found all of the teachers and school staff to be very approachable and commited to the children. I have no complaints about the prinicipal. She has always be very polite and interested in the school's well being, from my point of view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Three of my children attended this school. It has a strong, broad curriculum, good teachers working in teams, and careful attention to students' social and academic development. The principal is a strong but collaborative leader who quickly learns the names and needs of every student, and I always found her to be both responsive and wise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Run fast! Attend Country if you have a choice. IMO, the Woodland Principal does not like parents and promotes adversarial relationships with them.There are some great teachers. If you dare complain, it may be taken out on your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Black 7% 8%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (781) 529-8111

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Alphabet Lane
Weston, MA 02493
Phone: (781) 786-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT