Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Whitman, MA
Students enrolled: 1,192
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
WHRHS is not just a gorgeous, updated new building. Inside the building is a multitude of great opportunities for the children of two towns. Although struggling due to financial issues, the lack of Chapter 70 funding, and the lack of support from the communities for another Prop 2 1/2 override, perseverance is shown by the dedication of the administration, guidance counselors, and teachers. These individuals are hardly recognized for their commitment to our children. Yes, they are paid to do a job: lead, guide, teach; not babysit and discipline. Parents need to be involved in their children's lives...school work, social activities, and media. To help our schools, we must work together so that the wonderful education that is available inside the building, is gained and enjoyed by all who enter. I applaud the WHRHS faculty and wish them all a wonderful school year and thank them in advance for all their hard work and dedication to the students of Whitman and Hanson.

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a community member
Went to this school several years ago along with several other members of my family. I attended a top-tier national university after graduating and found that W-H and their honors and AP programs were an excellent preparation for the class work there. The new school and facilities are top notch and they have traditionally made participating in extracurriculars and sports a point of emphasis with students (clearly helps with college admissions.) I think the guidance department was a little over-worked (as are most public schools) but well-intentioned, and seems to be getting better recently. A lot of teachers are involved in extracurriculars and are very capable.


Whitman Hanson Regional
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a community member
The Special Needs Department at W/H is truly outstanding. The Director as well as the support staff couldn't be more helpful. Kudos to M.O. and M.C.

Whitman Hanson Regional 2

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
The new principal has made an incredibly positive difference in the school atmosphere and attitude toward behavior and academic excellence. Sports and extra curriculars are still important as they should be, but the academic is stressed more than it had been. Also, the new principal emphasizes families....and all members of families as important parts of events. He makes a point of involving his own family, stating that he feel WH activities are good, healthy and positive for everyone!!! Bravo!

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
I have two children in the high school and one graduated last year! I am very happy with the new principal,the teachers as well as the guidance department. My children enjoy going to this school and are involved in many extra curricular activities not available in other high schools. I highly recommend this high school, as it offers many lessons needed for college.


Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted December 18, 2007
- a community member
Whitman-Hanson high is a great school. The teachers there are incredibly helpful and are willing to take time out of their life to stay after to give extra help to students willing to stay after to get help. This school also offers plenty of electives not offered any where else.

Whitman Hanson Regional 4

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 children already graduated from Whitman Hanson and the third is a Sophmore. This school system has definitely prepared them for college and I have 2 in College now doing great. The teachers love my kids and vice versa. They have all worked hard, made honor roll and have great friends. I have found the teachers very helpful and willing to stay after and help however they can. The guidance dept. is excellent as well.

Whitman Hanson Regional 2

Posted March 02, 2006
- a parent
i find the principal to be non responsive to important issues brought to her attention. Policies ambiguous...teachers are have difficult time following up on academic problems. Generally, poor management.Parents not validated or respected


Whitman Hanson Regional 1

Posted February 22, 2006
- a student
Whitman-Hanson high is the worst school I have ever been to! The teachers dont do anything to help you nor do they care about you! they kids there don't treat you right and the teachers don't do anything about it! The 'new' school is beautiful but the people in it need to change before anything else does! therefore I wouldn't recomened this school to anyone!

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted March 25, 2005
- a student
Whitman-Hanson Regional High School is one of the bests schools i have ever been to in my entire life. The music and theater arts programs are outstanding and the teachers there are (for the most part) very friendly, interesting to listen to, and always help the students if he/she is struggling in a specific area. The counselors and principals do an outstanding job in running our school. And plus, next year we get to have a brand-new school. How awesome is that!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitman Hanson Regional
600 Franklin Street, Whitman, MA  02382
(781) 618-7020
Last modified Whitman Hanson Regional is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whitman Hanson Regional Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top