Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Whitman, MA

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
WHRHS is not just a gorgeous, updated new building. Inside the building is a multitude of great opportunities for the children of two towns. Although struggling due to financial issues, the lack of Chapter 70 funding, and the lack of support from the communities for another Prop 2 1/2 override, perseverance is shown by the dedication of the administration, guidance counselors, and teachers. These individuals are hardly recognized for their commitment to our children. Yes, they are paid to do a job: lead, guide, teach; not babysit and discipline. Parents need to be involved in their children's lives...school work, social activities, and media. To help our schools, we must work together so that the wonderful education that is available inside the building, is gained and enjoyed by all who enter. I applaud the WHRHS faculty and wish them all a wonderful school year and thank them in advance for all their hard work and dedication to the students of Whitman and Hanson.

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a community member
Went to this school several years ago along with several other members of my family. I attended a top-tier national university after graduating and found that W-H and their honors and AP programs were an excellent preparation for the class work there. The new school and facilities are top notch and they have traditionally made participating in extracurriculars and sports a point of emphasis with students (clearly helps with college admissions.) I think the guidance department was a little over-worked (as are most public schools) but well-intentioned, and seems to be getting better recently. A lot of teachers are involved in extracurriculars and are very capable.


Whitman Hanson Regional 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a community member
The Special Needs Department at W/H is truly outstanding. The Director as well as the support staff couldn't be more helpful. Kudos to M.O. and M.C.

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted June 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Whitman Hanson Regional 2

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
The new principal has made an incredibly positive difference in the school atmosphere and attitude toward behavior and academic excellence. Sports and extra curriculars are still important as they should be, but the academic is stressed more than it had been. Also, the new principal emphasizes families....and all members of families as important parts of events. He makes a point of involving his own family, stating that he feel WH activities are good, healthy and positive for everyone!!! Bravo!


Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted February 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whitman Hanson Regional 2

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
I have two children in the high school and one graduated last year! I am very happy with the new principal,the teachers as well as the guidance department. My children enjoy going to this school and are involved in many extra curricular activities not available in other high schools. I highly recommend this high school, as it offers many lessons needed for college.


Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted December 18, 2007
- a community member
Whitman-Hanson high is a great school. The teachers there are incredibly helpful and are willing to take time out of their life to stay after to give extra help to students willing to stay after to get help. This school also offers plenty of electives not offered any where else.

Whitman Hanson Regional 5

Posted November 25, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitman Hanson Regional
600 Franklin St, Whitman, MA  02382
(781) 618-7020
Last modified Whitman Hanson Regional is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whitman Hanson Regional Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top