Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wilbraham & Monson Academy

Private | 6-12 | 455 students

Center for Entrepreneurial & Global Studies, Diverse Community, Strong Athletics
 
 

 

Living in Wilbraham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $247,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

Dorm Life: No air conditioning, half of the rooms don't have a single light, dorm parents are severely condescending and disrespectful, students treated like 7 seven year olds, no respect for students. Dreadful. Education: Average, not what you would expect from a private schools that demands such high rates of tuition. If you can afford to pay this much money for WMA its better to go to a different school that can offer a better education. Most teachers do not have a teaching degree, solely a bachelor, so their distribution of knowledge is considerably below average. Math department is dreadful. English department is very good. CEGS is decent with numerous good teachers and a few not so much. Arts are enjoyable and interesting (very good teachers). Science department is astoundingly weak. Campus Life: A lot more to do in comparison to other schools, there are mall trips and some other quite interesting social events. However it can become slightly monotonous as the year progresses. Administration: CORRUPTION. Only care about the money. So many cases I have experiences that I do not have liberty to discuss on reviews. Review: Below average CORRUPT school, WATCH WALLET WISELY!!


Posted July 1, 2014

Wilbraham and Monson Academy has been, by far, one of the best experiences that I have ever had. After seven years of attending WMA, I have come to realize how great of a place this is. Not only is it a great academic establishment, it is also a place that screams fun. Wether it is traveling to Brazil, playing sports, doing community service, hanging out in the "Spa" with friends, cheering on sports teams, going to Boston, baby sitting faculty kids, taking classes in the trading center, there is always something to do. Most importantly, now that I have gone through the school, I have great college options to choose from. WMA single-handedly is the reason for any successes that I have had.


Posted July 1, 2014

My daughter attended WMA as a day student. As a parent reading some of the reviews posted on this blog from students, I feel they were not prepared for life at a private institution/school. Transition from public to private is an adjustment. Public schools can not and do not offer what WMA has to offer. My daughter's experience was exceptional. The academics were excellent. The after class opportunities from sports, dance, theater and arts along with the various clubs kept here active and entertained. The town of Wilbraham is small, quiet and charming. Now as a student, they may find that boring but as a parent, I found it to be a safe and secure environment. The teachers and staff were very cognizant of each and every student. I found them respectful and mindful. One teacher/coach in particular, I can honestly say, was instrumental in shaping my daughters future. She was that teacher/coach that made the difference. Today my daughter is successful and happy. She married an alum of WMA They met at a WMA reunion; her 5 year his 10 year. He attended as an exchange student from the UK and they have made the UK their home. WMA truly made a difference in my daughters life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

The school is focused on making money in any way possible, which to a certain degree is understandable, because they hold an extremely limited alumni fund compared to other private boarding institutions. As a former student and border, I can tell you that it is not a good place to send your children to. Day students probably have a different opinion, but living on campus at WMA is dreadful. The dorm parents are extremely rude and offending, treat 19 year old with utter disrespect and baby them. Punishments are given for nothing, and the level of corruption within the administration is absolutely astonishing.The academics are average, MA public schools offer better education than provided in WMA as teachers don't even need a degree to teach here, just a bachelor. This hindered me and a lot of other students because in many classes, teachers had no idea what they were talking about and couldn't even answer fundamental questions. The campus life is bleak, especially if you are a border. The prison like atmosphere creates a miserable vibe on campus, and the limited money the school has results in the below par facilities and equipment. Would not advise paying so much money, is a waste.


Posted March 21, 2011

AWFUL. As a former student and someone who experienced public school, I can tell you Wilbraham and Monson academy is a terrible establishment. The academics are well below average. Not only were the majority of teachers' classes dull and unengaging, but the teachers themselves seemed to know little about the subjects and mostly taught from books. The staff was also very hostile and controlling creating a very unpleasant and prison-like atmosphere. They were also very biased and unfair to students, especially those of colored ethnicity. Everything about the school is fake. From the staff to the services. It is a school that promises the world and provides next to nothing. All they care about is getting your paycheck. If you are looking for a school that will help you or your child grow and mature into a successful human being, this is not the school for you. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY


Posted March 21, 2010

WMA, 'The Global School', has provided my children with the courses, environment and experiences to head off to highly selective colleges with the background necessary to succeed in the world with a comprehensive global perspective. The foreign travel (India, China, Brazil's Amazon, France, Spain, Greece, Egypt, Korea, Etc.) provided learning experiences just not possible in a classroom. Being in class with students from throughout the world also contributed significantly to their worldwide perspective on both current and historical events. These experiences and perspectives are not readily available at other schools. Each student receives a world-class education in a safe, quiet New England town. Overall, a fabulous experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Small classes, dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

ridiculous. don't waste your money. full of conceited want-to-be elitists with extra cash to burn, but not an ounce of sense.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2006

The academy was an awesome academic experience. As a former student i wholeheartedly recommend this school to any student who really wants to learn. This school didn't coddle or baby me but rather molded me into an effective student and adult. Unlike the championing of mediocrity and 'lets make everyone feel good about themselves' baloney that is rotting the public school system this school put the onus back on me to meet the standard or exceed it. I emerged a competent confident student with a thick skin ready to handle constructive criticism. My experience there made college easy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 10, 2005

I am a former student and I believe the academic programs are wonderful. I was not a star athelete, but I did not feel left out in any way. The school is small, therefore there is more of a conection with the teachers and the other students. I love the fact that extracurricular activities are mandatory. It helps you learn that there are things you are good at that you may have never realized. I loved the school. I made some of my favorite memories living there. I have some of my best friends from Wilbraham. We still stay in touch eventhough they live in MA or Germany and I live in Texas. It was a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2004

If your student is not an outstanding athlete, there is not much recognition by the top administrators. Their 'win at all costs' attitude in certain sports may not be a fit for certain students. For those students that do not greatly excell at a particular sport a student may feel lost with no particular 'place' they belong. Athletic's are mandatory, yet the programs do not support those students that may not excel in a sport but may just want to play the game. (Varsity programs in certain sports are competitive but the JV programs are very weak and not given much attention.)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 6%
Black 11% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Brian Easler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (413) 599-1749

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Outdoor Adventure,Yoga
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Outdoor Adventure, Yoga
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 01, 2015

 
123
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
287
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
611

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

423 Main St
Wilbraham, MA 01095
Website: Click here
Phone: (413) 596-6811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mill Pond School
Springfield, MA


Immaculate Conception School
Indian Orchard, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT