Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilbraham & Monson Academy 1

Posted July 31, 2014
- a community member
Dorm Life: No air conditioning, half of the rooms don't have a single light, dorm parents are severely condescending and disrespectful, students treated like 7 seven year olds, no respect for students. Dreadful. Education: Average, not what you would expect from a private schools that demands such high rates of tuition. If you can afford to pay this much money for WMA its better to go to a different school that can offer a better education. Most teachers do not have a teaching degree, solely a bachelor, so their distribution of knowledge is considerably below average. Math department is dreadful. English department is very good. CEGS is decent with numerous good teachers and a few not so much. Arts are enjoyable and interesting (very good teachers). Science department is astoundingly weak. Campus Life: A lot more to do in comparison to other schools, there are mall trips and some other quite interesting social events. However it can become slightly monotonous as the year progresses. Administration: CORRUPTION. Only care about the money. So many cases I have experiences that I do not have liberty to discuss on reviews. Review: Below average CORRUPT school, WATCH WALLET WISELY!!

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
Wilbraham and Monson Academy has been, by far, one of the best experiences that I have ever had. After seven years of attending WMA, I have come to realize how great of a place this is. Not only is it a great academic establishment, it is also a place that screams fun. Wether it is traveling to Brazil, playing sports, doing community service, hanging out in the "Spa" with friends, cheering on sports teams, going to Boston, baby sitting faculty kids, taking classes in the trading center, there is always something to do. Most importantly, now that I have gone through the school, I have great college options to choose from. WMA single-handedly is the reason for any successes that I have had.


Wilbraham & Monson Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended WMA as a day student. As a parent reading some of the reviews posted on this blog from students, I feel they were not prepared for life at a private institution/school. Transition from public to private is an adjustment. Public schools can not and do not offer what WMA has to offer. My daughter's experience was exceptional. The academics were excellent. The after class opportunities from sports, dance, theater and arts along with the various clubs kept here active and entertained. The town of Wilbraham is small, quiet and charming. Now as a student, they may find that boring but as a parent, I found it to be a safe and secure environment. The teachers and staff were very cognizant of each and every student. I found them respectful and mindful. One teacher/coach in particular, I can honestly say, was instrumental in shaping my daughters future. She was that teacher/coach that made the difference. Today my daughter is successful and happy. She married an alum of WMA They met at a WMA reunion; her 5 year his 10 year. He attended as an exchange student from the UK and they have made the UK their home. WMA truly made a difference in my daughters life.

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 1

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
The school is focused on making money in any way possible, which to a certain degree is understandable, because they hold an extremely limited alumni fund compared to other private boarding institutions. As a former student and border, I can tell you that it is not a good place to send your children to. Day students probably have a different opinion, but living on campus at WMA is dreadful. The dorm parents are extremely rude and offending, treat 19 year old with utter disrespect and baby them. Punishments are given for nothing, and the level of corruption within the administration is absolutely astonishing.The academics are average, MA public schools offer better education than provided in WMA as teachers don't even need a degree to teach here, just a bachelor. This hindered me and a lot of other students because in many classes, teachers had no idea what they were talking about and couldn't even answer fundamental questions. The campus life is bleak, especially if you are a border. The prison like atmosphere creates a miserable vibe on campus, and the limited money the school has results in the below par facilities and equipment. Would not advise paying so much money, is a waste.

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 1

Posted March 21, 2011
- a community member
AWFUL. As a former student and someone who experienced public school, I can tell you Wilbraham and Monson academy is a terrible establishment. The academics are well below average. Not only were the majority of teachers' classes dull and unengaging, but the teachers themselves seemed to know little about the subjects and mostly taught from books. The staff was also very hostile and controlling creating a very unpleasant and prison-like atmosphere. They were also very biased and unfair to students, especially those of colored ethnicity. Everything about the school is fake. From the staff to the services. It is a school that promises the world and provides next to nothing. All they care about is getting your paycheck. If you are looking for a school that will help you or your child grow and mature into a successful human being, this is not the school for you. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY


Wilbraham & Monson Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
WMA, 'The Global School', has provided my children with the courses, environment and experiences to head off to highly selective colleges with the background necessary to succeed in the world with a comprehensive global perspective. The foreign travel (India, China, Brazil's Amazon, France, Spain, Greece, Egypt, Korea, Etc.) provided learning experiences just not possible in a classroom. Being in class with students from throughout the world also contributed significantly to their worldwide perspective on both current and historical events. These experiences and perspectives are not readily available at other schools. Each student receives a world-class education in a safe, quiet New England town. Overall, a fabulous experience for my children.

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
Small classes, dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 4

Posted September 11, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Wilbraham & Monson Academy 1

Posted April 29, 2008
- a student
ridiculous. don't waste your money. full of conceited want-to-be elitists with extra cash to burn, but not an ounce of sense.

Wilbraham & Monson Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2006
- a former student
The academy was an awesome academic experience. As a former student i wholeheartedly recommend this school to any student who really wants to learn. This school didn't coddle or baby me but rather molded me into an effective student and adult. Unlike the championing of mediocrity and 'lets make everyone feel good about themselves' baloney that is rotting the public school system this school put the onus back on me to meet the standard or exceed it. I emerged a competent confident student with a thick skin ready to handle constructive criticism. My experience there made college easy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilbraham & Monson Academy
423 Main St, Wilbraham, MA  01095
(413) 596-6811
Last modified Wilbraham & Monson Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Wilbraham & Monson Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.