Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Winchendon, MA
Students enrolled: 250

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Winchendon School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
With so many things these days unknown and unexpected it has been nothing short of amazing that a school can be so innovative, student focused and family oriented. Our daughter has been at winch for four year and has developed and honed all the skills that she will need to excel in college. The weekly report cards are a great tool for parents to stay a tune to their child's academics. Wether it's a school function, sports events, or just a stroll around campus ever faculty member is approachable and always willing to chat. All events on campus are packed with teachers and facility. The school offers many ways for parents to either get involved or sit back and watch the action. Would highly recommend this school to any child looking for small class size, one on one attention, and a nurturing environment. Our daughter will call Winch home for the rest of her life.

The Winchendon School 5

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
With its small class size and innovative uses of technology and integrated curriculum--they have really moved to the forefront of cutting edge education. Students are challenged at their level and gently pushed to reach their maximum potential; a hidden gem!


The Winchendon School 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
My son is in his second year at this school. One of the best parenting decisions we ever made!

The Winchendon School 5

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a sophmore. She loves the "Winch". The teachers, administration and staff have become like family to her. The small class size can't be beat. She has developed into a very disciplined student due to the individual attention she receives. Detailed weekly reports from her teachers help keep us updated. She is a three sport athlete. Her coaches have been so wonderful. Her hockey team had an incredible season. The parents are very supportive and try to attend as many games as possible. They have also encouraged her to try new things to develop her confidence and leadership abilities. She was a Jr. Proctor this year, captain of the soccer team and is presently preparing to go to Haiti on a humanitarian trip with some of her teachers and friends. Academically, athletically and socially.... Winchendon has been a positive experience all around for our daugher. GO WAPITI!!!

The Winchendon School 5

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in her sophomore year at Winchendon, and her experience has been outstanding. Having come from a public school background from a distant western state, I was a little concerned with the possibility of culture shock. The transition to a New England prep environment has been a very pleasant one for us. She is getting the academic challenge that she needs, progressing smoothly and rapidly. The staff and student body has become like extended family to her, and the social and cultural aspects of boarding school have proven rewarding. We are both very happy with the choice, and she will complete her high school education at Winchendon


The Winchendon School 4

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Winchendon has been a good fit for my son,he has enjoyed playing (3) sports and getting to know the different coaches, and making friends. He has also started to develop a more meaningful and deeper relationship with his teachers,this has helped with a better grasp and understanding of the academic material.The school has helped in making my son a more independent individual,this has been a positive. I am grateful for the experience and for all that Winchendon is doing for him.

The Winchendon School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a student
Winchendon provided me with the tools that I needed to become a better person and a better student. The provide not only academic support, but personal support as well. The small atmosphere makes the school very personable. Even if you are not in a certain teachers class, they will go out of their way to get to know you. Winchendon also promotes athleticism, music, and arts. Whether you like to play hockey, paint, or help out in the community, there is a "after school" activity for you. The academics of the school is what made me very pleased. The quality of the education that is provided is absolutely phenomenal. At first, I was intimidated by the small classes, but the size is very comforting. Your teachers will have a very close bond with you; the teachers want to see your success in and out of the classroom. Attending Winchendon was the best opportunity, and if you have the opportunity to attend as well, do not let it go!

The Winchendon School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
A truly great school. Individual attention, caring, loving faculty. My son has excelled and learned a lot, through small seminar type of classes. and great individual attention, and they really get the best out of students. The facilities are nice, and improving year by year. The sports engagement is fantastic. Thank you winchendon


The Winchendon School 5

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
This is one of those schools that changes lives. I can't imagine a more caring, dedicated group of professionals responsive to the kids and parents alike. I'm including the headmaster, the admissions director, the teachers, and the administrative staff. In the year that my godson has attended, his SAT scores have improved in all areas, most notably 130 points in critical reading. Not only has he become a better student, but he has also become a better person. As far as school is concerned, The Winchendon School is the best thing that has ever happened to my godson.

The Winchendon School 5

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
We weren't sure what to expect, especially after reading the previous reviews, but we have been blown away by the caring teachers, administration, and staff. The Head of School is still fairly new and is making HUGE strides in advancing this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Winchendon School
172 Ash St, Winchendon, MA  01475
(978) 297-4476
Last modified The Winchendon School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
The Winchendon School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top