Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Winchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $680,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My daughter has attended St. Mary's for three years. The staff is caring and nuturing. She is getting a great education and making life-long friends. I am so glad I made the decision to send her to St. Mary's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

St. Mary's in Winchester, MA has been and continues to be a great school for my son. What I especially appreciate is the attention devoted to public speaking, which is critical to success later in life. There are frequent opportunities for kids to engage in various kinds of public speaking from K though Grade 5. I notice a difference with my son. Academics are strong, especially writing/reading-related.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

St Mary's Winchester is a great school; there is a wonderful principal with strong school leadership, excellent teachers/staff and an involved community! I love that the school not only teaches academics but also teaches the children good values and kindness. Every child's birthday is recognized in front of the whole school and every child is made to feel special. Over and above the everyday subjects, the children also participate in library, music, art, computer, gym and Italian on a weekly basis. My daughter loves St. Mary's and I recommend it to everyone I know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

. Mary's is a wonderful academic and nurturing environment! I have been here for 12 years and have seen the dedication of all the teachers and staff. They believe in instilling in their students morals and guiding them through example. Academically, they give each student the attention they need to succeed and believe in teaching the core subjects and stay with them until the student has mastered the subject. I have one child who is now in High School and I know that her beliefs, study habits and overall attitude is because of the foundation that she got at St. Mary's. She transition to middle school without an issue either academically or socially. My son is finishing this year and I know he is well prepared! This is the best decision I I made for my kids. I will miss it tremendously. I thank everyone for helping to mold my children into wonderful, falth-filled people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Great school with a robust curriculum and a very knowledgeable, professional, and dedicated staff. Originally, we thought of only using the pre-school however, seven years later we have a 4th and 1st grader. This school is a find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

The greatest decision I have ever made for my children. St. Mary's prepared my children academically and morally, making them well rounded and truly caring children. I have one in the school presently and 2 who have moved on to public Middle School. They were well prepared for Middle School and transitioned without difficulty. The teachers are kind, caring and adapt to the children's learning styles. St. Mary's combines fun, family values and a commitment to learning. I would give 10 stars if it were an option!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

I love this school and would recommend it to anyone. It has a family atmosphere and each staff member genuinely cares about each individual child and their needs, whether they currently teach that child or ever have. They have gone above and beyond their teaching duties to be supportive of my children. These are the kind of people that make good schools great. We have experienced small class size with work that was challenging and rewarding to the students. Parents have varied opportunities to be involved which is helpful as everyone wants some level of involvement but may have other commitments as well. Two concerns I had before sending my children to Catholic school was diversity and a fear that the teaching of certain beliefs may border on intolerance. I cannot stress enough how wrong I was to be concerned about either of these things. From day one my kids have learned about Catholicism, they've learned to pray and to be kind and loving to everyone. This is not the Catholic school you remember. It is a place with strong academics, caring staff, with time to play, time to pray and time to learn. It is where well rounded, smart, kind children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Great school that many of my family members attended. The school was great at building character, confidence and providing an education that prepares kids for their next step in life. Outstanding school. Thank you.


Posted March 26, 2009

This school was the best decision I ever made for my children. They learned so much. The teachers are out of the box teachers. They were very kind and caring. Very family atmosphere. I am sorry my children cannot attend anymore. I wish it went beyond the fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Black 3% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

162 Washington Street
Winchester, MA 01890
Phone: (781) 729-5515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT