Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2014
- a community member
When i went here i had absolutely HORRIBLE experience. One of the 3rd grade teachers... was just... SO mean oh god... the flashbacks of the principle dragging me out of my car into the school.... i also remember crying in front of the whole class when one of the teachers yelled at me. I would highly recommend to not let your child go to this school or ANY Winthrop school. And if you decide to let your child go to this school i wish the best of luck for him/her.

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
Teachers were on strike last year and ignored students/parent needs. My phone calls were not returned and my child who needs extra support school year was greatly affected. It was strange seeing teachers together in union format and having the kids ask why they behave that way. I was very dissapointed especially when the teachers know the financial hardships this town has. Most teachers live here. The principal is a realistic, good man and puts the students first when he comes to work. Withou him running that school I would consider going elsewhere ASAP. Part of my childs comments about school was " my teacher is on the cell phone alot and leaves the room to talk". It was not a productive year here.


Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 03, 2009
- a parent
The Principal Mr. Gill is just awesome. My kid was picked on, and he took it very seriously and put a stop to it right away. He just loves kids, and you can tell. In fact, everyone who works here seems to love kids. It's a great school. My only complaint is about the closing of the science lab, and the larger class sizes, but that's not the school's fault -- that is the fault of the voters in town who will not pass 2 1/2 overrides to find the schools properly.

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 1

Posted September 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 2

Posted September 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2008
- a parent
This is a beautiful school. My son has a wonderful teacher in the 4th grade. She is understanding, approachable and most of all inspiring. She has creative ways of getting her students involved and interested not only in their studies, but extracurriculum activities as well. The principal at this school is very friendly and approachable as well. He is fair and has listened to me and helped me when I have sought his help. Parents and teachers came together during the most recent MCAS testing period and tried many different ways to decrease anxiety in the students. For that I thank them!

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for 2 years. Every day of her last week there she would come home and say 'Mom I LOVE this school I don't want to move!' I would feel bad for her because she had so many friends there and now she was going to lose it all. Not that she can make new ones here in Georgia it's that she knows them for 5 years! If your moving to MA I would reccommed you go to Winthrop and let your daughter/son learn at this school. I would totally reccomened this one!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School
40 Hermon St, Winthrop, MA  02152
(617) 846-5543
Last modified Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arthur T. Cummings Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top