Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burncoat Street Preparatory School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
Principal Catamero is a true leader. She cares for each student and is a cheerleader to all, encouraging the students to do their very best.

Burncoat Street Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
Our kindergartner received homework 4 nights a week. This really made a difference in her development. By the end of the school year she was able to read at minimum 6 words per page.


Burncoat Street Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
Burncoat Prep has a program where they encourage students to earn "Burncoat Bucks." The children earn the play money with good behavior and kindness. It is a wonderful rewards program and a math teaching tool.

Burncoat Street Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
The staff truly cares about their students. The receptionist, Principal, Vice Principal know each child by name and their stories.

Burncoat Street Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
I have volunteered at Burncoat Prep on several occasions and I have personally witnessed the Assistant Principal purchasing a baked good for every child that was unable to afford a treat. Burncoat Prep is wonderful, the classes are small and each student is truly cared for.


Burncoat Street Preparatory School 5

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
Burncoat Prep is a wonderful little school. Principal Catamero knows each and every student. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The teachers truly care about their students. We could not be more pleased with our school. The reviews listed below are old and outdated, this school should not be overlooked. I would recommend to all looking to move into the Burncoat neighborhood.

Burncoat Street Preparatory School 2

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
The teachers were great here but the old Principal was promoted and so now they have a woman who runs the place horribly! I as well as many others left the school!

Burncoat Street Preparatory School 4

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
All my kids attend this school,my oldests one (21 - 17) and my little one (8).Its a great school and the staff is a really caring teachers.Music department is great.My overall experience thru the years with my kids is excellent and I highly recommend Bruncoat Prep School.


Burncoat Street Preparatory School 3

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
They have a really good music dep. but not that great i education

Burncoat Street Preparatory School 5

Posted May 16, 2005
- a parent
In grade K, I have seen little or no parent involvement. This is unfortunate because this school is run so well, and led by a Principal who is as caring and determined as any I have ever seen in Worcester. This school is run the way I remember Thorndyke being run 30+ years ago. One way to get this school to become a 'neighborhood' school again, is to get the kids from the neighborhood to attend this awesome neighborhood school! Don't be discouraged by any remark I've typed here. This school has some great kids, and even greater staff. If I were you, and had the choice to send my son/daughter to this school, I would send them here...no doubt!

Nearby schools

Burncoat Street Preparatory School
526 Burncoat Street, Worcester, MA  01606
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (508) 799-3537
Last modified Burncoat Street Preparatory School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top