Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Doherty Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1331 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

As soon as I walked into this school I had a bad feeling about it. I was miserable from the start, now in the process of transferring. Don't send your kids here! Awful!


Posted October 3, 2012

I graduated in June 2011. Teachers love what they do. Most students love the friends they made and are a part of a great athletics tradition. Families love sending their kids to the multicultural and welcoming community Doherty offers. The structure could have some update/fixes. But the surrounding Newton hill and Elm Park stand nearby in majesty. I felt I became a leader surrounded by some of the greatest people in the world. I will always hold this place in my heart. Fight On, Highlanders.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2010

As a graduate of the class of 2008, I think I have a pretty good grasp of the current state at Doherty High, and let me say, it's definitely a mixed bag. Positives: Teachers: I would say most seem to really enjoy working there and it seems to resonate in the classroom. I would say this is definitely true with those who teach higher level classes and mostly true for the others. Negatives: Culture of Mediocracy: One of the most frustrating things about Doherty is that few people seem to have the drive to succeed. There are so many kids who just coast by and/or create distractions by wandering in the hallways. I sometimes used to wonder, why do these kids come to school in the first place? The lower level classes are filled with kids who don't give a crap which is unfortunate because they drag down the rest of the class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2009

After these years I truly believe Doherty is a good public school regardless of many negative feedback, points of view I've received in the past. It is a good public school with solid programs that are equipped to help those students who want to learn. I've met with the teachers and they seemed to be very dedicated & involved in the success of their students. As a parent with kids who had been in private school in the past, now, when I think back it hardly made a huge difference in term of their academic life. I believe it is within the child willingness to learn and also the level of effort, care and support that they receive from the teachers-regardless of private or public!! I think I'm pretty happy that my child is on the right track for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Doherty is a good school, one of the best in Worcester. However due to the recent economy meltdown sources are low and the school isn't able to reach it's full potential anymore. More and more electives have been cut. Also, the school doesn't have as many dedicated teachers as there used to be. But I most definitely have to give a big shout out to Mr. Bucciaglia, Ms. Soares, Mrs. Razzaq, Mr. Boyd, Capstick, and Dr. Reese! They're fun and good and their job. - Class of 2009! I'm outta here baby
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

I was a student at Doherty High School and i still recognize the Good ESL teacher Ms.Griffin who warm heartedly cheered me up when i just immigrated to the United States . In Dorherty Memorial High School, she was the only person who truly saw me for who i am,till now i still consider her my role model.The kind of person i hope to learn from and impact it in others life the way she impacted on mine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2008

I have four children in the Worcester public schools and my oldest is at Doherty High. She loves the teachers (well, most of them) and I do as well. They really do a great job.The principal really does go above and beyond the call of duty. Whenever I have needed any extra things done for my daughter they are right on top of it and very respectful and professional . They do truly care about the students. You couldn't ask for better sports , music , etc., programs . BUT..... I am very disappointed that the Worcester School Dept. has not put any money into repairing the building. The bathrooms ARE a nightmare and the building is crumbling. (My kid will not use the bathroom) , I honestly would not send my daughter there if the staff was not so outstanding. Worcester needs to get it together and rebuild!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

It has a lot of good c[o]urses. Good ESL teacher Ms.Griffin for new students that come from other countries.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

I'm a student at Doherty currently. Most of the teachers are extremely good at what the do. The actual school its self is a not as great. The bathrooms are very gross, and I now know not to go in them. And the only thing that has been replaced in the time that I have been there is the tiles, and they are still not that great. And it still doesn't crush our school spirit. Overall, this school is awesome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

My daughter is a sophomore and absolutely loves the school. She has been involved with a few programs in sports and the arts, which we feel are very good. The music program that she is in is phenomenal. It is the reason that we have stayed at this school. The building is in disrepair, especially the bathrooms; does not seem to deter the spirit I have observed at the school on my many trips there. It also does not subtract from the quality of the academics. For the most part, she has had exceptional teachers. There were a few challenges last year, but she survived. The principal, Sally Maloney, and her entire staff go above and beyond their expected roles. The focus is always on the students and their families. Thanks for keeping our kids safe and relatively happy! A grateful Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

I really like the school because all the teachers that I have had in the four years of my attending here, have been nothing but the best. they all deserve plaques and should be known for their hard work and dedication. I am thinking of becoming a teacher myself just because I saw my teachers and how they make learning fun. Doherty over all is a great school and students will get a great education if they attend it. I would give 5 out of 5 GOLDEN Stars.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
African American81%
Asian79%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners45%

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male75%
African American55%
Asian71%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners24%

Science

All Students62%
Female60%
Male64%
African American47%
Asian77%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners15%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students61%
Female62%
Male61%
African American55%
Asian60%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners19%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

81%

Average SAT score

1417

Graduation rate

82%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 67%
Hispanic 27% 16%
Black 14% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (508) 799-3276

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

299 Highland St
Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: (508) 799-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


G Stanley Hall School
Worcester, MA



Claremont Academy
Worcester, MA


Notre Dame Academy
Worcester, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT