Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flagg Street

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 473 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This is the best school of Worcester. my daughter enjoys her live there, the teachers, the principal are the best..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This is our first year at Flagg Street School, and so far we love it! It has been a great experience for our son thus far. His teacher is so loving and attentive to each and every child in the class. She is 100% devoted to each student and to seeing them succeed. The parent/teacher communication is excellent. The principal here is wonderful as well. I agree that the office staff could be a bit more friendly, but not having to deal with them too often, this isn't a deal breaker for us. Smaller sized classrooms and a real neighborhood family oriented school. As a girl who grew up and works in a very sought after suburban school system, I have been pleasantly surprised by this school in the city! I look forward to sending our two girls here in the following years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

We are very happy with this school. My daughter has had two excellent teachers so far (she's in the first grade), and we've liked them so much that I hope to place my younger child with both of them when the time comes. They genuinely care about their students, and do a great job tailoring lesson plans to meet each student's needs. The principal is excellent! She addresses every student in the school by name, the children just love her, and she works well with parents. One major advantage at this school is that parent volunteerism is extremely high - there are always an extra set of hands available in the classroom when needed. As for the last reviewer's comments about parents, I couldn't disagree more - most parents I see volunteering are there in jeans, sneakers, no make-up, and are not the least bit pretentious. We are a middle class family (as are most of the other families there we know) and have never felt out of place. There are fundraisers from time to time, but most schools have those since schools systems in general are so grossly under-funded. We opt out of them a lot. The folks in the front office could be a bit friendlier, and that perhaps is one area for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

This is a great area of Worcester and I was excited to send my children to Flagg Street. Huge mistake. This school is 100% about how much money you have and who you know. The school assemblies are like a contest to see which mom can wear the highest heels or pack the most botox into her face. The school is constantly asking you to spend money on one thing or another...not a bit of money either, a lot. And I do mean constantly. Don't even try to smile at anyone working in the office or ask how they are doing, these superior beings have no time for you. Don't bother saying thank you or being friendly on the phone with them, they are just going to hang up on you mid-sentence. If you send your child here, be prepared to be treated like bottom-of-the-barrel trash. It's true, the teachers seem to not care about much of anything. And, they have no guidance counselor! I truly want to volunteer for the school but I just cannot deal with these people. It sickens me every time I'm there. My kids are miserable and no one seems to care. Don't be fooled like I was by the fancy computer lab and beautifully decorated classrooms, unfortunately this place is nothing but a status symbol.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

We are not only a school but a family too. When support is needed we come together and help with out hesitation. My kids love Flagg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

I am in complete agreement with the last reviewer. Ever since the 'new' principal took over, the school has lost everything that made it a great school. The wonderful art teacher left. The wonderful music teacher left. The teachers have become so complacent. It's as if most of them are just waiting it out in order to get their pensions, including the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

Flagg Street school has been a very inconsistent educational experience for my three children:when you are fortunate enough to get an energetic, innovative, teacher, then you are fine, however, the principal is complacent, does not take advantage of the great resources she has, does not inspire anyone as very bright, and is certainly not an educational leader-she seems to be happy to get to retire from a school without any major 'issues,' and push the status-quo. The school has become another poster-child for Worcester mediocrity and 'leave no worksheet behind' mentality. If you have a child who loves to learn, or is an advanced learner, find another place for your child, or do school-choice and attend a school outside of the city. Flagg Street has a few good teachers, but it is simply a job to the others. Most will not go above and beyond. Flagg Street is a sad disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Flagg St is a great school.Principal is is really helpfull and involved.Teachers are so nice.I wold just like to see more new thisng added to their program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Both our children go to Flagg street school. The school is open and inviting. The faculty really care about each student's education and parental involvement is fantastic. The PTG and administration are creative and cooperative. I think that in an underfunded city, Flagg street school stands out among all the others. Great place to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

it is considered to be the most desired school in the city. It is located in the most affluent neighborhood which explains the safe-family friendly environment. On the other hand, one would anticipate a much more serious approach to the academics, which I have found to be far from rigorous. another major turn-off is the clickiness of parents /students . I would recommend it only if you could not afford living in the subborbs and sending your children to those school districts, especially shrewsbury.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I love this school! They are extremely helpful and always upbeat. They care about my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

Energetic and in-depth teaching at Flagg St. School, fun to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2005

We are very happy with Flagg Street! The parent involvement and the excellent staff make this school great! Our principal, Mr. Hibbert, is absolutely wonderful- he truly cares about each and every student and knows every one of them by name. We are blessed to have our children at this school and cannot imagine not being there. Our kids look forward to school every day and we know that they will get the best possible education, and they are as safe as they can possible be- Also, the ptg is great! Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners74%

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female73%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female93%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
Female52%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female64%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Hispanic 10% 16%
Black 6% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Flagg St
Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: (508) 799-3522

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Jewish Academy
Worcester, MA


Nelson Place
Worcester, MA


Midland Street
Worcester, MA



Tatnuck Magnet School
Worcester, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT